A Regency Zombie?

Below is a link to a very interesting article regarding Jane Austen and the various incarnations of her novel that are being published. One is titled “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”, which begins with “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

I was a Regency Zombie

I’m probably going to be drawn and quartered, tarred and feathered and boiled in oil for saying this but I’ve tried several times to read “Pride and Prejudice” but I can never get past the first chapter. I’ve seen all the movie versions of the book and enjoyed them but reading the book? Nope, I just couldn’t do it.

I did read “Emma” for a graduate course I took and I actually liked that book. But that was quite some time ago.

Maybe having a couple of zombies shuffling around Regency England might not be such a bad idea.

5 Responses to A Regency Zombie?

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Ok, I’ll fess up and say I had a hard time when I started reading Jane, too. I think I started with “Sense and Sensibility” and didn’t get through it the first time. Now, I am an unabashed Janeite. I’ve read all her books at least once, and now I’m reading all the critical studies and biographies of Ms. Austen I can lay my hands on. She’s SO FUNNY! Oh my god, the wit is there but it’s subtle. She’s a snarky gal. Maybe try “Northanger Abbey”, I laughed out loud in a couple places. It’s a satire of the gothic novels that were popular at the time.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    With me it could have been the mood I was in at the time, the circumstances I tried to read it it. I do love the movies because of the wit and the verbal swordplay. I’ll try that book you suggested and give P&P another try sometime down the line.

    It’s funny because I was at a book sale at our local library and I picked up some book (can’t remember the title or what it was about) and the guy who was checking me out asked if I was a Jane Austen fan. I said I had seen most of the movies made from her books and had read Emma. He then told me about this Jane Austen Society that meets locally. I’ve yet to attend a meeting but perhaps I’ll be come a Janeite too. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    My favorite Austen is Persuasion.

    So Zombies eh? Are we going to do Zombies and Dickens?

    “It was the worst of times it was the … BRAINS!!” LOL!! 😉

  4. jennareynolds says:

    You know, Dickens can be so wonderfully dark sometimes I can just see zombies wandering around his version of Victorian London. And he’d give them great names to boot!

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Amy, “Persuasion” was incredible. Some of her best writing. Ignore that horrible Masterpiece production that came out last year (Rupert Penry-Jones notwithstanding).

    I’m also probably one of the few people who really liked “Mansfield Park”. I think she had some of her best insights into human nature in that one.

Leave a Reply

