The Tudors

The Tudors will be back April 5th for Season 3. I’m totally addicted to this series!

But check out that promo photo! Henry the VIII sitting on a throne of naked men and women. That’s certainly eye-catching!

I know that some people have trouble with movies and televison series that are baesd on historical events. There’s certainly more creative license regarding historical facts in movies and televison shows than is usually allowed in historical fiction.

But that doesn’t bother me that much, and I have no intention of getting into any intense discussion regarding it. I’ve seen far too many protracted flame wars regarding that very topic.

Let’s just say I like watching The Tudors and leave it at that, but I certainly wouldn’t try to pass any history exam by watching it.

As for my writing, I’m proceeding apace. There’ve been some bumps and stumbles and dead ends but I just force myself to work through them.

8 Responses to The Tudors

  1. Amy says:

    Heck I write historicals, sure there are some inaccuracys in this series … like King Henry being so HOT, but I don’t care.

    It’s a FREAKING awesome series, and I can’t wait! SQUEE!!!!!!!!!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I can’t wait either. 🙂

    I do remember reading that when Henry was younger he was actually not that bad looking. He was supposed to have been tall and in pretty good shape when he was younger. Before he got all fat and gouty and started looking like Charles Laugthon. 😀

  3. Dixiebelle says:

    Through NetFlix, I saw a few episodes and I thought it was great. I’m hoping to watch more of the 2nd season when I get time. I think reality is often glossed over when it comes to historical movies and romances but I don’t mind.

    I’m working on creating a writing blog, separate from my other one.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Hey Dixiebelle!

    My son, who usually avoids historical movies and tv shows like they’re the plague, even got into the second season of the Tudors!

    Let me know when you get your writing blog up.

  5. Amy says:

    Well when this series was taking place he was all fat and gouty. LOL!

    And Charles Brandon was just as bad.

    I prefer the inaccurate version. >:)

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Me too. 🙂

    I just can’t see Jonathan Rhys Meyers all fat and gouty but I suppose if the series continues he’ll have to get that way.

    I saw some footage of Charles Brandon (Henry Cavill) in his armor but I believe he was about to do some bad stuff in the name of his King.

  7. Rosie says:

    Nearly every historical drama that has been produced and shown has inaccurate historical facts. Why do people make such a big deal about THE TUDORS?

  8. jennareynolds says:

    I have no idea, Rosie. As you said, from the early days of movies and televion, historical dramas have pretty much been historically inaccurate. I still enjoy the show and hope to see Season 3 once it’s on DVD.

Leave a Reply

