Writer’s Block

I wouldn’t say that what I’ve experienced the last couple of days is writer’s block but it sure feels like it.

I’m able to write, I’m just not writing what I want to write. So I keep having to start over. Which is frustrating, to say the least.

Some writers say they don’t believe in writer’s block. I can’t say I believe in it either if it’s defined as the inability to write. Because, unless there’s some physical or mental affliction that’s keeping one from actually putting words down on paper or typing them on a computer, we can write even we don’t feel like it.

It’s just that what we write will probably be nothing more than crap. But it’s writing.

I see writer’s block as more of a writer’s sidetrack or a writer’s dead end or a writer’s ditch.

If you get sidetracked, you find your way back to the main road. If you reach a dead end, you turn around and go back the way you came. If you wind up in a ditch, you use your cell phone to call 911.

One way or the other, you get where you’re going. That is, if you really want to get there. You may just decide it’s not the worth trouble and go back home.

In my case, I would say I’ve reached a dead end with this particular story I’m working on, and I just need to find my way back and seek out another road.

2 Responses to Writer’s Block

  1. Sam Tamlyn says:

    I call it “writer’s black hole”. You write and write and write, and it’s like the ideas get sucked into a vacuum and nothing turns out the way you want.

    Try looking at it from a different perspective. How would the story move forward if you changed a couple of details in the existing prose? Sometimes it’s something you’ve written that’s holding you back, rather than an absence of ideas moving forward. Good luck!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Oh, I like that! Writer’s black hole. Yes, that’s how it feels.

    And, yesterday, I did just that. Changed some things around and today, with hope, I can get back on track with the story.

    Thanks, Sam!

Leave a Reply

