Rest Stop

Digital Dame has some great advice and comments on her blog about writer’s block.

What I wound up doing this weekend, to continue my driving metaphor, was to pull into one of those rest stops you see along the interstate highways and take a break.

So I didn’t write at all this weekend. I read, watched television, and I went to see Watchmen with my daughter, who very kindly treated me.

As a result, today, I’m ready to get back into it.

So, sometimes, you might just need to take a break from writing. It’s not written down in stone that a writer must write every day though some would have you believe that. Trying to follow that particular “rule”, however, can stress you out more than anything, IMHO.

Not to say if you can pull it off, you shouldn’t write every day. And I’m sure there are writers who do and more power to them. But for some of us it’s just not feasible for any number of reasons. I say, write when you can however you can but don’t kick yourself if you miss some days, or even weeks.

It’s good to keep up a steady output but it’s also equally important to keep one’s mental equilibrium. Writing is hard work and like anything you work hard at, sometimes you just need to take a breather.

5 Responses to Rest Stop

  1. Sam Tamlyn says:

    I don’t write on Sundays. EVER. It’s my mental health day, and I need it to survive. If I suddenly get an idea on Sunday afternoon, I jot down a few notes on a pad of paper and tuck it in my office desk for Monday. It’s just like any other profession or hobby; if you force yourself to do it every day, burn-out isn’t far behind. Good for you. πŸ™‚

  2. Yup. Sometimes you definitely need a day off. I always liken writing to working out. You need to do it on a regular basis or you get out of shape. However, you can’t exercise every single day of your life. You need to rest your muscles.

    And sometimes your brain muscles needs a rest. πŸ™‚

  3. jennareynolds says:

    That’s a great idea, Sam, regarding not writing on a Sunday. And it also, I imagine, gives one something to look forward to. I’ll have to try that. πŸ™‚

    Hi, Gypsycarlett! I totally agree about those brain muscles needing a rest. It really did me a lot of good taking this past weekend off from writing.

  4. Amy says:

    You need mental breaks. Trust me.

    After I finish a book I take at least, minimum, a week’s break.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    So true, Amy, as I have discovered. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

