Favorite Places to Write

I have a handful of favorite places to write. Of course, one should be able to write anywhere, but I’m sure we all have some favorite nook or cranny that we just can’t wait to get to in order to write.

Where I live isn’t that big so I don’t have a separate room in which to write. I have a table set up in front of a large picture window and I usually write there.

When I’m not at home, my favorite places to write are my neighborhood library because (1) it’s quiet (2) they have free wireless and (3) if I need to do some quick research there are plenty of books around. The only downer is the lack of coffee although I think I can bring in coffee as long as it’s covered. Haven’t tried to do so yet.

Another fave place is my local Panera. They have free refills on coffee, free wireless and for some reason, although it’s nosier than the library, I find the atmosphere to be, for lack of a better word, cozy.

I also like to go to our local Barnes and Noble. No free refills on coffee, no free wireless but it’s huge and I can usually find somewhere to settle down, with plenty of room, and write. And of course there are all those new books to look at. Hopefully for encouragement to keep writing but sometimes it can be a bit overwhelming seeing so many books!

Sometimes I go down to the campus area. There are gobs of coffee shops down there and lots of places to sit down and write. I usually go there in the summer because, one, it’s better than going down there in the winter and two, the students have left for the summer.

I live in a city with a huge university population so in the summer when the students leave it’s much less crowded down on campus.

Oh, and I have to have music wherever I am. So I never leave home without my Ipod. πŸ™‚

What are some of your favorite writing places?

7 Responses to Favorite Places to Write

  1. Hi Jenna,

    When brainstorming, I may take a journal and go out somewhere- in a park or coffee shop. But I do all my actual writing in my apt. I can’t wait for spring to finally come so I can sit out on my balcony.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    I rarely even have the opportunity to write anywhere other than at home in front of my computer (unless it’s at work in front of my computer.. πŸ˜‰ ) I should try to get out more, take the notebook and get out of the house.

  3. Patricia says:

    I like to write at home in my writing area, which has all my notes and stuff. I could never write in a public place because I get distracted too easily.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    I like to go to different places as I get a different kind of vibe from my surroundings. But sometimes it also doesn’t seem worth the hassle to load everything up and go out and write either.

    So I would say most of my writing is done at home (especially when I’m working), but now and then I need to get out and change the scenery. And the places I listed in my post are the places I usually go. πŸ™‚

    I’ve done some of that writing at work stuff too, Digital Dame. But I swear, I only did it when I had some downtime. πŸ™‚

    I will also be so glad, Gypsyscarlett, when spring gets here too. Partly for being able to go out and write, but also because I’ve had it up to here with winter and cold and snow and high heating bills! πŸ˜‰

  5. Amy says:

    My couch. I’ve never written outside of the house before, other than my lunch hours at the former EDJ

  6. jennareynolds says:

    I should have added my couch. I’ve done quite a bit of writing there too. πŸ™‚

  7. jennareynolds says:

    Hi Patricia.

    I find, interestingly enough, that I get more distracted at home because of all the other things I find to do instead of writing but I hear you about the distractions that can also come from being in public places. Usually, however, that stuff tends to fade in the background for me. Unless it’s a baby crying. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

