Nosferatu

Last night I watched the 1922 silent version of Nosferatu directed by F. W. Murnau.

I’d forgotten how creepy this movie was. The movie drew quite freely from Bram Stoker’s Dracula and, as a result, Stoker’s widow sued for copyright infringement. She won the case and the movie was supposed to have been destroyed but copies had already been circulated around the world.

The version I saw last night was a restored version. There was nothing sexy nor tortured about this vampire. He was the vampire as it was perceived long before Anne Rice or other more romantically inclined writers got their hands on the mythos. A creature of the night, evil, depraved and desiring only one thing: blood and the corruption of the innocent.

In 2000, the movie Shadow of the Vampire starring John Malcovich as the German director F. W. Murnau and a very creepy Willem Defoe as the actor Max Schreck, who portrayed Nosferatu, was released.

The twist in this movie is that Max Schreck really is a vampire. But Murnau is so obsessed with his movie, he doesn’t seem to care if his film crew is falling prey to Schreck.

It might be fun to watch both movies together, if you’re so inclined.

I’m not writing a vampire story right now but I will be submitting one this week. I did, however, recently write two vampire stores and submitted them. My werewolf novella is complete. The first draft is complete, that is, but I have to finish up my steampunk for a deadline this month before I can start revisions on that.

2 Responses to Nosferatu

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I saw the 2000 version with Malkovich, very strange movie. But then, with Malkovich in it, how could it be otherwise? 🙂 I don’t think I’ve seen the 1922 version in its entirety, I really should sometime. I’ve got an idea for a vampire story, but haven’t actually started working on it yet. Good luck with all the works you’ve submitted recently!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Yeah, Shadow of the Vampire was very strange. Funny, though, in a very dark way.

    The 1922 version of Nosferatu is interesting if only to see how much they ripped off Dracula. And to see Max Schrek as the vampire. I mean, there’s a scene in the 1922 version where he’s walking through the streets carrying his own coffin!

    I think I’ve seen the 1979 Klaus Klinski version of Nosferatu by Werner Herzog but can’t remember. I’ll have to see if my library has a copy of the DVD.

    Thanks about my submissions. Yeah, I send them out and then go on to the next project. The only way to stay sane in this business. 🙂

Leave a Reply

