Happy St. Patrick’s Day

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Today is supposed to be a record 71 degrees with sunny skies and around here, this time of the year, that’s something to celebrate. We’ll be back to the normal 40s in a day or so but I plan to enjoy this unseasonably warm weather.

Having coffee with a writer-pal but hope it will be warm enough this morning to maybe sit outside the café.

Finally submitted a vampire novella that had been sitting on my laptop for nearly a year. It’s an over the transom submission, which means I expect it to be months before I hear anything or, if they immediately decide they don’t like, maybe sooner for a rejection.

But I’m just glad to have finally submitted it. One of the writers in our local RWA chapter said we should also celebrate submitting a story as much as do an acceptance. I’m on a very strict budget but I’ll find some cheap way to celebrate having submitted that novella.

I can’t remember where I came across this but some email list used to have submission parties. Or perhaps they still do. If I could remember which list it was. They picked a day of the week, or something like that, and everyone submitted something on that day.

I think that’s a great idea. I try to set up what I call submission days, especially if I’m not working with a deadline imposed by an editor who’s looking for submissions. I pick a day of the month that I will submit something and use that as a target to work toward.

5 Responses to Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Happy St. Pat’s day, hope you got a chance to go out and enjoy the weather. Cold and rainy here, as usual. But July’s not far off, sunshine’s coming! 😉

    And definitely celebrate the submissions. A bubble bath with your favorite music playing and lots of candles is always nice, and won’t cost $$.

  2. Oh, tons of good luck with the submission!

    And I agree- celebrate. It doesn’t have to be anything expensive. Just enjoy yourself and be proud of your accomplishment. 🙂

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks about the submission! 🙂

    We had an absolutely gorgeous St. Patrick’s Day. Sunny and warm and quite unusual weather for March around here. But the cooler weather is back and the rain.

  4. Amy says:

    Happy Belated St. Pat’s day.

    Congrats on the submission. We should celebrate submissions, it’s a huge goal to finish something and send it out.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks!

    Yeah, I thought that was a good idea. To celebrate submissions as well as acceptances.

Leave a Reply

