Busy Snowy Sunday

It’s started snowing and the wind has picked up and it’s much colder. It was such a lovely day yesterday. What a difference a day makes. Snowfall projection is for about five inches before it’s all said and done Monday morning. I hope no more than that. Good thing is, the snow will be gone in a couple of days once we warm up again. Just makes for messy driving for the time being, but I have no plans to leave the house today.

And that’s because I have a lot of writing to do. I have a post to get ready for Lori Devoti’s Full Moon of Werewolves event at her blog. My post is scheduled for Tuesday, April 7th, and is about shapeshifters in mythology.

I have edits to work on for a novella that’s contracted for Ellora’s Cave. I have revisions to work on for two novellas I recently drafted, a novel I’m trying to get into shape for a contest, and two short stories to write that are due at the end of the month.

I like being busy. It keeps me from dwelling too much on stuff that I don’t want to dwell on too much. Like the state of this lousy economy.

I got The Innocents DVD from the library. I picked the DVD up based on a review from Gypsy Scarlett at her blog. I’m looking forward to watching it.

I also picked up a DVD called Copenhagen. It’s a PBS film about Niels Bohr and Werner Heisenberg. It stars two actors I love watching, Stephen Rea and Daniel Craig, so also looking forward to watching that. Plus I used to read a lot about quantum physics some time ago so that’s another draw for the movie.

And, to continue my Horror Noir obsession, also picked up a DVD with two movies on them. I Walked with a Zombie, which is described as Jane Eyre reset in the West Indies, and The Body Snatcher, with Boris Karloff. A doctor needs bodies for his medical studies and good old ghoulish Boris Karloff is more than willing to provide them.

Recently, I watched Humoresque, which starred Joan Crawford and John Garfield, which I hope to blog about more someday. It was a very interesting movie. And I finally saw Stardust, which I liked a lot, and I am also getting around to reading the book. A cross-dressing lightning pirate. Love it! 🙂

I’m a big fan of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series and I loved American Gods, so I’m looking forward to reading the book.

Oh, yeah. Books. Went to the library yesterday and came out with an armful of books to read. As if I have time to read them. But, strangely, I find it comforting to see a pile of unread books. Means if push comes to shove and the power should go out, at least I can read by candlelight. 🙂

Speaking of books, my friend Joely Sue Burkhart is having a drawing for the Demonica Series by Larissia Ione. Entries will be accepted through Monday, April 6th, Midnight CST and winner announced on Tuesday, April 7th.

3 Responses to Busy Snowy Sunday

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Bleah, snow?? Sorry to hear it. It’s finally warm-ish here today, upper 60s, might hit 70.

    Good luck with all those projects! Holy crow, I don’t think I could juggle all that!

    I LOVED Stardust, the movie. I haven’t read the book but it’s on my list. Robert De Niro was hilarious. And the ghosts of the brothers, too funny!

  2. Patricia says:

    It is supposed to snow here on Tuesday! I was so hoping it was going to stay warm. I loved Stardust! Such a cute movie. Right now, I’m watching The Tudor series. Woo hoo!

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Well, that snowstorm was a bust! We got this light dusting, enough to cover the grass. Then it rained and snow is all gone. Woke up and nada. At least around here. So glad. Sick of snow!

    I’m one of those weird people who has to work on more than one thing at a time so I came up with this equally weird system to do that.

    Oh, yeah, those brothers were hilarious. And Septimus was kinda easy on the eyes. 🙂

    Patricia: Oh, I hope you guys don’t get any snow. I’ve seen the first two seasons of The Tudors. But I had to get rid of all my movie channels so will have to catch the third season on DVD. But I love it!

Leave a Reply

