Armchair Research and Traveling

I’ve never been to Tuscany. Heck, I have yet to travel outside the United States. But I fell in love with Tuscany when I found out it was the setting for Kenneth Branaugh’s Much Ado About Nothing.

And, in a novel I’m getting in shape in order to enter it into a contest, my hero and heroine travel to Tuscany. Now, I would love to fly to Tuscany and drink in all of its sights and sounds and smells. But I can barely afford to drive across town.

So, I’m reading everything I can find on Tuscany and, specifically, about Montalcino which is where my lovers go for their romantic rendezvous.

I’m a big stickler for research but sometimes it’s just not possible to do the in-your-face, I’m-actually-here research required. Sure, I could make this far easier on myself and just have my lovers go somewhere I’ve been. But I want them to go Tuscany, darn it! And to Tuscany they’re going.

I’ll do my best to do all the research I can but no, I won’t be able to write about Tuscany as if I’d really been there. But, there are websites and articles and books written by people who did go there. That’s what so wonderful about books.

Trust me, someone, somewhere has written a book or an article on just about everything.

That’s why I call it armchair research and traveling.

Maybe someday I’ll get a chance to visit Tuscany but, for now, I can only experience it vicariously and hope that when my lovers go there, they have as much fun as I dream of someday having.

5 Responses to Armchair Research and Traveling

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I’m doing the same thing right now, although I’m not getting too detailed on the setting just yet. My location is much closer to home than Tuscany (Northern Minnesota) but I’m still in no position to visit the area in person. Lots of movies set in Italy you could watch too, although I don’t know if any are specifically set in Tuscany (Under the Tuscan Sun was apparently largely filmed on location in Tuscany).

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I’ve seen Under the Tuscan Sun and plan to use it as reference. And there’s always Much Ado About Nothing to inspire me as it was the original reason I fell in love with that region. 🙂

  3. Digital Dame says:

    These days I’m in love with any place that’s warm, dry, and sunny! It’s pouring here today. Which reminds me, “Enchanted April” is another good one.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks! I’ll check that one out. We’ll we’ve had the dry and the sunny but not quite the warm yet.

  5. I’m not picky. Any place hot and sunny will do just fine.

Leave a Reply

