Dreams


If you haven’t heard of Susan Boyle, you will here. She’s the YouTube Sensation that wowed Simon Cowel and the judge’s of Britain’s Got Talent.

Susan Boyle’s Audition

Everyone, from the judges to the audience, was ready to rip apart the 47 year-old, never-been-married, never-been-kissed woman whose dream was to sing.

And, hold on, she even had the nerve to be sassy. You could just hear everyone thinking, oh, yeah, she’s going down.

And then she opened her mouth and sang.

A song, appropriately enough, titled “I Dreamed a Dream”

Made my morning, I have to say, as I watched the video. Ms. Boyle struck a resounding blow for woman over 40, people who don’t look like super models, and, most of all, for dreamers.

She also struck a blow against this obsession with image, image, image.

Do you know, I sometimes wonder if we’re not turning into a society of clones. There are women now on television and in movies who are starting to look like each other. The same hair, face, eyes, body, etc.

I was watching some television news show the other day and the two female anchors? They looked like clones. I kid you not. Their hair and makeup and faces looked exactly the same! It was quite disturbing.

But back to Susan. I have no doubt she’ll have success after this, and I also have no doubt she’ll be made over: hair, make-up, clothes. That’s the way show biz works. Though I hope they don’t. She’s fine, in my opinion, just the way she is.

But, if she is made over, I hope she doesn’t lose that wonderful spirit, sense of fun and belief in herself that drove her to take a chance on being ridiculed before millions by going on that stage and sharing her gift and talent with the world.

We should all be so brave with our dreams.

5 Responses to Dreams

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I saw this on another blog, and my first thought was here in the US she never would have been on tv at all. She’s not a cute, perky, 18-yr-old blond.

    Along those lines I thought you might appreciate what the French version of Elle Magazine is doing–Famous women with no makeup on the cover:

    Elle Magazine Stars Sans Fard/a>

  2. Patricia says:

    What a voice! I’m hoping she does well, especially with all the current attention focused on her now.

  3. jennareynolds says:

    I’m sure she will. Just hope it doesn’t change her in a negative way. It can be overwhelming all that sudden and unexpected attention. But she appears to be made of strong stuff.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Sorry about the delay on your comment, Digital Dame. Was in my spam queue for some reason.

    Totally agree. And would love if magazines would stop digitally altering images of people also.

  5. Digital Dame says:

    No problem, that happens to comments I get from people who are regular commenters, too. No idea why, only the WP gods know, I guess.

    I’ve seen magazine covers that were airbrushed for women who are naturally beautiful anyway, there was nothing wrong with the way they looked but they photoshopped the arms down to toothpicks for some reason, and of course removed the (slight) crow’s feet around the eyes. Do publishers think we don’t know what a real human being looks like at the age of 40? Pretty soon we won’t, if this keeps up. Very sad.

Leave a Reply

