Brain Storms Ahead!

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of ideas for stories. Too many because I just don’t have the time to write them all.

But some of those ideas just grab me, dig into my ankle with their sharp, tiny teeth and want to drag me away from what I’m currently working on.

But I can’t let that happen. I need to finish what I’m working on now and then turn to something new.

I love having brainstorms. They literally feel like lightning flashing and thunder pounding in my head when some image or quote or message from beyond suddenly clicks and I get an idea that I can get really, really excited about.

But I have to resist the urge to drop what I’m currently working on and go chasing after that bright, new, shiny idea. It’s hard to do, but must be done.

So, what do you do when you get an incredible new idea for something but can’t work on it right then?

5 Responses to Brain Storms Ahead!

  1. Digital Dame says:

    What I *try* to do is scribble down at least a line of the basic idea. I’ve gone back through old notebooks and found some of these that I had completely forgotten about, some of which I remember and think “Oh yeah! I need to get to that!” Others I look at and say “Did I write that??” 😉

  2. Kait Nolan says:

    I have what I refer to as my Tangent Notebook. It’s actually an online wiki where I I have a section for small stuff like individual lines or characters, and for broader, bigger projects, I’ll create a full page for notes on Sexy Next Book. I’ll allow myself a day or two to get it all down, then return to my current project. SO FAR this has worked pretty well, allowing me to get the idea down without abandoning the present WIP.

  3. Amy says:

    This has been happening a lot lately. And one was a way to fix an old WIP which hasn’t seen the light of day since I first published.

    I write it down, or I’ll forget. I’ve learned to tune them out so I can make deadline; but I will say it is really burning me out.

  4. Argh! The very reason my novel changed so many times is that I couldn’t ignore the new, shiny ideas. (magpie that I am)

    Now, I jot down ideas in a separate notebook. Along with telling the voices to, “shut up for now.”

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: That’s has happened to me! Seriously! And I think when I read those scribbles, wow, am I a genius or what? 🙂

    Kait Nolan: Hi Kait! Thanks for stopping by! I’ve heard of people using wikis to capture and organize their ideas for writing. Some even use them for building their worlds for sci-fi and fantasy stories. I’ll have to look into that. What a great idea!

    Amy: The writing down part is what I’ve had to become more conscious of doing. Because I’ve had that horrible feeling of having come up with an idea (whether for a new WIP or current one) and then not being able to remember it! Argh!

    Gypsyscarlett: Once I write those nagging ideas down they seem to leave me alone for awhile. I like your analogy of a magpie who can’t resist the newest, shiny thing that catches its eye. 🙂

Leave a Reply

