Back to Work…for a bit

On Monday I’ll be back to work. For a bit. I’ve been unemployed since January and the job I was able to find is only temporary. Which means it could last weeks or months. I have no idea at present.

But what I do know is that working full-time will cut severely into my writing time and online time. I’ll probably only have time to post to my blog on Sundays.

My writing schedule when I’m working full-time is to wake up at 5:00 in the morning and write for a couple of hours. Then I go to work. If I have time to write during lunch I do that. I try to write when I get home but sometimes my poor brain is just fried. But I usually try to get in at least a hour. And there’s the weekend writing of course.

My overall goal, like pretty much everyone who writes, I’m sure, would be to write full-time and make enough from my writing to do that.

But, realistically, I’m shooting more for being able to work part-time and then have the the rest of the time to write. That would be ideal for my particular situation.

So, anyway, I won’t be online as much while I’m working as I put the writing first. Again, have no idea how long this particular assignment will last but I know I was lucky to get it with the current job situation.

Oh, just wanted to mention that yesterday I went to the local RWA meeting and Kathryn Albright, who writes wonderful historical romances, gave a great presentation on the Writer’s Path.

She recommends the book Seven Steps on the Writer’s Path. If you go to the link you can see what those seven steps are and find out more about the book.

I told Kathryn that since I will have to readjust my writing schedule around working full-time again, those seven steps will be of a great help to me.

So, today, Sunday, I’m getting my head wrapped back around the old 8-5 working mode, readjusting my writing schedule as a result and relaxing before hitting the 40 hour a week grind tomorrow.

See you next Sunday!

4 Responses to Back to Work…for a bit

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Congrats on finding work! Wow, that must be a relief, even if it means less time to write. I hope you enjoy the job, however long it lasts. They say when you’re temping to treat the job as if you were a permanent employee. Give it your all, and it could go perm. I’ve gotten several jobs in the past that way. I don’t interview well, so it’s been a good route for me to get in the door, and show them I know my stuff and would be a good fit. Best of luck!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Digital Dame! I’m up at the crack of dawn and getting ready to write before heading off. This will take some adjustment. Waking up so early. πŸ™‚

  3. Jenna,

    Good luck with the new job and with sticking to your writing schedule. You can do it. Just stay focused. πŸ™‚

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Gypsyscarlett!

    Looks like this assignment will only last a month or so, unfortunately, but it’s something and I was lucky to get it in these rough economic times.

    I’ve not been doing too badly getting up early and writing so that’s good. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

