Deviant Moon and Oddcon

A rather short post today because I’m attending Odyssey Con, or Oddcon as it’s somestimes called, a science fiction convention being held this weekend. Then, once I get home, I’ll prepare for work tomorrow and write for a bit.

The photo is of a new tarot deck I picked up that I absolutely love. It’s the Deviant Moon Tarot deck by Patrick Valenza. This deck is definitely not for every tarot enthusiast. Especially if you prefer bright, sunny images.

But if you’re into the Gothic, the macabre, the Shadow side of life and the psyche, you might like this deck. The images are startling, strange, dreamlike and, in some cases, nightmarish. But also vibrantly colorful. It’s one of the few decks I’ve come across that is very unique yet doesn’t stray far from the traditional tarot imagery.

You can see images from the deck here

And here’s the official website for the deck

I’m going to squeeze in a bit of writing this morning before heading down to the con. My short story is drafted but needs to be revised before the May 1st deadline. Once that short story is submitted, back to my novellas and prep for my brand new spanking novel.

It rained all day yesterday and looks like the same is on tap for today. Good weekend to be inside at a sci-fi convention. πŸ™‚

10 Responses to Deviant Moon and Oddcon

  1. bobbi says:

    So is that a brand-spanking new novel or a brand new “spanking”novel. Since you write erotics, one wants to be sure. πŸ˜‰ Good job, Jenna – kudos to you. Enjoy oddcon.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    I waited and waited for this deck to come out, following the artist/author’s Web site. I was fascinated by the originality of the artwork when I first saw it, and then, over time, I found that while the art is beautiful and unique, I was not really connecting with it. By the time the deck was released I had decided it’s not one I would ever read with.

    Have fun at OddCon! You have so many projects going on, that’s terrific. Good luck with the revisions on your short story, I’m glad to hear there is still a market for those.

  3. Lori Devoti says:

    Missed you today!! Were you hiding from me? πŸ™‚

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Bobbi: It’s just a regular novel. My short stories tend to be more erotic but my longer pieces I like to think of as just fiction with a little bit more sex but are not erotica. If that makes sense. I’ll have to write a blog post about it I think to really explain the difference. πŸ™‚

    Digital Dame: That’s totally understandable. My reaction is actually the opposite. I could see reading with the deck all the time. But that’s what so great about the variety of decks out there now. Back in the day one was so limited but now I can’t imagine anyone not finding a deck (or designing one themselves) that they are comfortable with. Now, there might be particular times I would not want to read with this particular deck, but then I know I should have another deck that would suit that instance.

    Lori: I went to the panels on the book series and action writing but I wasn’t feeling that great so I left the con early.

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Uh-oh, you haven’t been to Mexico lately have you? πŸ˜‰ I know you haven’t, just kidding. Hope you feel better.

    Bobbi: I thought the same thing for a minute when I read that (hehe).

  6. Amy says:

    I hope you had fun.

    My favorite Tarot is the Art Nouveau tarot. I lurves it. πŸ™‚

  7. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Thanks, Digital Dame.

    Amy: I have that deck. It’s beautiful and I find it great inspiration for writing romances and/or fantasies.

    You can see pictures of some of the cards here. http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards/art-nouveau-tarot/

  8. Jenna,

    Have fun at the Con.

    I’m going to check out the tarot link. Thanks for posting it. I’m dying to buy some new decks. Weird thing is, I haven’t found any stores here that sell them. Berlin is such an artsy/free-spirited city- there has to be some stores…

  9. jennareynolds says:

    I actually got this particular deck at Barnes and Noble. They don’t have a huge selection, however, Borders tends to sell more decks. At least the ones around here do.

  10. Digital Dame says:

    That is strange, Tasha, since many of the tarot publishers are in Europe (A. G. MΓΌller, Lo Scarabeo, Piatnik, etc.). I’m on the TarotL mail list, I can ask on the list if anyone knows of places in Berlin that sell cards. People frequently ask there when they’re getting ready to travel, and I’ve seen recommendations for bookshops or occult type shops in London in the past. There are list members in many countries, someone may know something πŸ™‚

    Jenna, Borders does have a much better selection of Tarot cards than B&N here too.

Leave a Reply

