Hump Day and Star Trek

It’s Hump Day!

Wednesdays are strange. They’re in the middle of the week, thus the Hump Day appellation.

They’re not as horrible as Mondays but not as cool as Fridays. They’re like that moment of suspension at the top of a roller coaster, followed by that dizzying rush down to the weekend.

Above is the revamped Enterprise NCC-1701 for the new Star Trek movie opening next week. I will admit I was really skeptical about this new Trek having been a fan of the old Trek for many, many years.

But I’m willing to be open-minded and give it a chance. First, because I’m hungering for some good old-fashioned “buckle up” space opera. Second because as much as I love Star Trek: The Next Generation and its intrepid crew, the last Star Trek movie, Star Trek:Nemesis featured a decidedly aging cast who looked a bit, well, embarrassing, I have to say, trying to do an action movie.

Now we have some young bloods taking on the franchise and I have to say I’m looking forward to seeing what they can do.

Sure, Hollyweird appears to be doing nothing but retreading the same stories over and over. But that was how stories were told down through the centuries. Storytellers would hear a story from someone in another village (this was, of course, long before copyright) change it a bit, add some stuff, remove some stuff and voilà a revamp of the original.

So, yeah, I’m ready to boldly go where we’ve been before. At least ths time. 😉

9 Responses to Hump Day and Star Trek

  1. Ed says:

    I have an appointment to see it on its third weekend. Like you, I guess I’m cautiously optimistic about it. Every incarnation of Trek has been slightly different but faithful in spirit, so if Abrams and company can pull off the same thing I expect I’ll be fine with it.

  2. Digital Dame says:

    I’m a Trekker from way back, the Original series 😉

    I’ll be very interested to see how they handle things like the sets, and not making them MORE futuristic and high-tech than the original was. That would seem very weird. I’m willing to give it a chance, much as I love the original cast. It won’t be ‘the same’ but that’s ok. They have to put their own unique stamp on it, like all the spin-offs have done. Some worked better than others, but if they can create that chemistry between the cast we’ll follow wherever they go!

  3. We have to see the movie so we can then complain about it. It is the Law of ST Physics.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Ed: Hi Ed! Yes, cautiously optimistic is a good way to describe the way I feel also. I’m hoping to go the first weekend it’s out. It’s showing on the local Imax in these parts. But, you’re right, there have been a number of incarnations of Trek and except for a miss here and there they’ve tried to hold true to the vision of the Great Bird of the Galaxy. We can only hope they continue to do so.

    Digital Dame: Me too, DD. From way back. 😉

    I’m also hoping that they don’t put too much emphasis on the special effects and the re-visioning of the original in order to make it brighter and shinier.

    What made Star Trek, especially Classic Trek, so endearing and enduring was the chemistry between the characters. To paraphrase a real estate agent, it’s characters, characters, characters! So, we’ll see.

    Victoria: Of course. That’s definitely one of the immutable laws of the ST Universe. And one of the great pleasures of being a fan. The joy of tearing it apart. LOL!

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Victoria has given herself away as a Vulcan: She’s using logic on us 😉

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Now that would be a great question (if it’s not out somewhere on the Net already)

    What Star Trek Alien Are You? 🙂

    EDIT: I spoke too soon. There are gads and gobs of those quizzes out there! 🙂 And I’m a lowly Hu-Man. How boring!

  7. GutterBall says:

    You know, this is gonna be the first Star Trek movie to feature “crew” actors who weren’t in any of the series. Is that kinda weird, or is it just me?

  8. Digital Dame says:

    I tried two of those quizzes online. In the first one, for “Which character are you?” I came out as Chekhov 😉 The second one for which race, I came out a Vulcan! lol

    Gutter: That will seem strange. But, there was a time when we didn’t know the name Jean-Luc Picard, either. I just hope they do a good job with it. None of the series ever matched the chemistry of the original crew, I have to say, but simply trying to “replace” each character wouldn’t have worked.

  9. jennareynolds says:

    Gutterball: It’s going to be very weird but I’m into weird. 😉

    Digital Dame: Really? Chekhov? 🙂

    I so agree that no cast will every match the chemistry of the original crew. No use in even trying but maybe they can come up with something workable. I hope so. I really would like to see more space opera movies. Good space opera movies, of course. No Ice Pirates, thank you. 😀

Leave a Reply

