Wiscon and More Trek

I wish I had more time to talk about the con. But if you google Wiscon 33 or Wiscon 2009 you will probably find tons of posts about it. I’ve never been very good at the journalistic style of writing and also, as a result of attending Wiscon, I’m so behind on my fiction writing I really need to focus on that. Plus, back to work today. You know how that is after having had a three-day weekend. Ugh!

But I will say that I did enjoy most of the panels I attended. My favorites were the care and feeding of vampires (a panel of authors of vampire fiction who talked about how they came up with their vampire characters) and the one about roadblocks to publication , where authors and an editor discussed the things we as writers do to keep ourselves from achieving our writing goals. I have notes on both panels and will blog about them at some point. Oh, and the panel on tech tools for writers was pretty cool too.

Registration is already open for Wiscon 34. The Guests of Honor will be Mary Anne Mohanraj, writer, editor, and spec-fic community activist, and Nnedi Okorafor, author of The Shadow Speaker and Zarah the Windseeker.

However, unfortunately, that’s all I have to say for now about the con as I have to go in to work early this morning and, as I mentioned before, I’m really behind with my writing projects. Really behind. 😦

Oh, I did get to see Star Trek again. This time with my daughter who had not seen it. She loved it! And, as for me, it’s even better the second time around. And Spock is hot. 😀

10 Responses to Wiscon and More Trek

  1. Amy Ruttan says:

    Glad you had a good time!!

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Looking forward to hearing more.

    Jenna, I know you’re a browncoat (i.e., Firefly fan) so I thought you might enjoy this. It’s a “fan trailer” for a “Green Lantern” movie starring none other than Capt. Tight Pants himself. (I’m not quite sure what a fan-edited trailer is, if it means it’s not actually in production or what, but it’s still quite stirring).

    Green Lantern Fan Trailer at io9

    This probably wasn’t the best place to post this, but you can always delete the comment later. 😉

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Amy: Thanks, Amy! I hope to blog about it more down the line.

    Digital Dame: Well, I’ve seen fan-edited trailers before for movies like Star Wars. It’s kind of like fan fiction for movie trailers. That one was pretty good. I just wish I knew more about the Green Lantern. I’ve never read any of his comics. 🙂

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I’ve never read any comics, and I’ve never seen any of the superhero movies that have come out, from the Batman franchise, Spiderman, X-Men, that one with Robert Downey, Jr. (Ironman?), etc. None of them. But if Capt. Mal is in it, I’d have to see it 😉

  5. jennareynolds says:

    I used to read comics as a kid so I’m familiar with characters like Thor, Spiderman, etc. I do like graphic novels and have been reading some of those of late. And I’ve pretty much seen most of the comic book franchise movies. But for some reason I never got into Green Lantern. I’ll have to read up on him. Or ask my son. 🙂

    And yes, I agree. Anything with my boy Mal in it I have to see. Thanks for the heads up on the trailer. 🙂

  6. Hey Jenna,

    Looking forward to hearing more.

    This line cracked me up: “My favorites were the care and feeding of vampires”

  7. GutterBall says:

    Okay, is it bad that I recognize probably 90% of those clips? *sigh* I really am a nerd.

    Oi.

    And yes, I think Star Trek is just as good (if not better) the second time around. Woo-hoo!

  8. jennareynolds says:

    Gypsyscarlett: I do hope to do a blog post about the panels before I forget everything. Been so busy with working long hours at work this week.

    Gutterball: I recognized most of the clips too. And I know I’m a nerd. 😀

    Can’t wait for Star Trek to come out on DVD!

  9. Digital Dame says:

    Ok, all you lovely Trekkers: io9 has a fab new article on Is Star Trek a Religion?

    (morphing into my Vulcan alter-ego) I would respectfully submit that it is not in fact a religion, but a philosophy, more like Buddhism.

  10. jennareynolds says:

    Fascinating article, Digital Dame. I’m very interested in religion from an anthropological perspective so thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

