Overwhelmed

Is anyone feeling like this man?

I know I am. I have been feeling very overwhelmed this past week.

Although Wiscon was a nice diversion, it did set me back writing-wise. Add to that the long hours I worked this week and all the day-to-day stuff that wears on one’s mind and I know how this poor fella feels.

I usually look forward to the weekend as an opportunity to catch up but, one, it’s amazing how fast the weekends go by and two, it’s amazing how there seems to be just as much stuff to do on the weekends as there is during the week!

However, despite all that, I must come up with a plan to deal with everything I need or want to get done. Or else I will wind up like that guy, sitting in a chair, surrounded by chaos and with no idea how to go forward.

Since I tend to be one of those odd people who can’t just focus on one thing, I have a number of writing projects I’m working on. Squeezing those in while working full-time has been, to say the least, an adventure in creative time management. 🙂

I’m also reading a handful of books (mostly non-fiction) for research and regarding the writing craft in particular.

I’m having brainstorms about my novel and I am desperately trying to make sure I write everything down as I have learned, much to my dismay, that I can’t remember this stuff if I don’t write it down.

I’m determined, however, to bring some order to my life. One way or the other. 🙂

4 Responses to Overwhelmed

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Maybe we are twins separated at birth. This post is everything I’ve been feeling lately (hence my whining post last week). I know exactly how you feel. Unfortunately, I have no solutions. I seem to have a natural tendency to continue to complicate my life, as well. I got a wild hair this spring and planted some seeds, which now require transplanting to a garden (veggies) which will of course thereafter need further tending…I don’t know what I was thinking, except I really wanted fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes! But why I planted so much lettuce I have no idea.

  2. Amy Ruttan says:

    Yeah order that’s exactly what I need. *sigh*

    Shambles, complete shambles that’s my life right now. LOL!!

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Unfortunately I didn’t get anything done on Saturday. I had a family crisis to deal with. I’m up early Sunday morning, hoping to get some errands done and then, finally, finally, attend to my writing, which I have mostly neglected this past week.

    Amy Ruttan: I hear ya, Amy. And you’re almost due, aren’t you?

    Victoria: I love that pic. I should blow it up and hang it in my writing nook and cranny. Either as a goad not to wind up like that hapless man or as a reminder that I’m not the only one going through this. Or both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

