TGIF & The Here and Now

June 12th! Already! We’re nearly halfway through June! Can you believe it? It’s been so cool around these parts that it hasn’t even felt like summer is on it’s way.

I had a major breakthrough about my novel last weekend, so I’m eager to get to work on that and I have, as a matter of fact, been furiously writing down notes about it. Secretly while at work.

Shh! Don’t tell anyone. But it’s only when I don’t have anything to do. I swear! Nothing makes the long hours at work go slower than to be doing nothing.

I’m also working on a novella and a short story. Both are due June 30th. I’m pretty sure I’ll make both deadlines but I have to be extra careful with my weekends as they go by so fast and I hardly ever get as much done as I’d like to.

I have a feeling my temporary work assignment will be ending in a week or two so I may wind up back in a state of unemployment, which, of course, offers more free time to write but which, of course, also offers the possibility of no money coming in. Not a situation I want to think about just right now.

So, I don’t.

Yep, that’s pretty much how I live my life now.

I ask myself, where I am? And I answer, here. And I ask myself, what time is it? And I answer, now. So that’s pretty much where I try to be at all times.

In the here and now.

Can’t do anything about what’s past and have no idea what’s ahead. All I can deal with effectively is the here and now.

Ciao for now! 🙂

2 Responses to TGIF & The Here and Now

  1. Patricia says:

    Living in the present moment is one of the most stress-free things you can do. Right now is really all the time you are sure of. I always think of that especially during a tragic event like the French airliner that went down. Whatever personal woes about money or the future the passengers were facing is over for them now.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    That is so tragically true, Patricia. That’s why, even today, when I wound with an overdraft that was as a result of my being stressed out and forgetting about a bill that came in and now I’m out money I can ill afford to be out of, I’m just going to let it go.

    Just take in a deep breath and be thankful that I can do that little thing. Take a breath.

Leave a Reply

