The Salsa Connection

My short story, “The Salsa Connection” is in the recently published anthology titled Caramel Flava II: Sensuality edited by Zane. It’s published under my other non de plume, Anna Black.

For anyone not familiar with Zane, she’s writes erotica. And pretty darn hot erotica at that. She started writing in 1997 and self-published her stories on the Internet. She developed quite a following, as a result, and her book, The Sex Chronicles (which is currently a television series on Cinemax), was picked up by Simon & Schuster.

Since then Zane has published novels and edited a number of anthologies featuring other erotica writers. This is my third appearance in one of her anthologies. The other two were in Honey Flava and Purple Panties.

The interesting thing is I wrote “The Salsa Connection” back in the fall of 2005. I had submitted it to Caramel Flava, which was published in the fall of 2006. I didn’t make that anthology but I was told there was going to be a second anthology and my story would be in it. Which is the anthology featured above. It was supposed to have come out in the fall of 2008 but the publication date was pushed back to June 2009.

So nearly four years have passed since I first wrote the story. Yep, time does move rather glacially in the publishing world.

The story is about a woman who wants to learn to dance the salsa before attending a friend’s wedding, but her instructor is just so darn hot she can’t keep her mind on the lessons and that irritates said instructor who, needless to say, takes his dancing very seriously.

The funny thing is that I’ve recently gotten into So You Think You Can Dance, which is on Fox and is an American Idol for dancers.

I like the fact that the competitors have to do all kinds of dancing but I hate when the kids get cut. They’re all very good but, as they used to say in the Highlander movies, “There can be only one.”

Anyway, the anthology is finally out and I can’t wait to get my free copies in the mail. And my check. Oh, yes, money is nice too. 😀

I’m chugging away on my June writing projects and enjoying the lovely weather. It’s finally starting to feel like the beginning of summer around here. Actually, it’s turning out to be a gorgeous Sunday.

Too bad I’m too broke to do anything fun. Well, I have a coupon for a free 12 oz beverage over at Borders so I think I’ll go over there when they open, take my laptop, sip my beverage, write, and then peruse the bookshelves.

I do so love looking at books I’m too poor to afford to buy. But I make up a wish list and then, as my fingers lovingly caress the covers, I murmur, someday, someday you will all be mine! 😀

Ciao!

Oh, I watched one of the Jason Bourne movies yesterday. My son has the last two of the three out so far (another is forthcoming) and has been trying to get me to watch them. I must write a post about Jason Bourne. I find his character quite fascinating!

11 Responses to The Salsa Connection

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Congratulations! This is a good year for you, two stories in anthologies (that I know of??).

    Now if the job situation would get settled you could start thinking about indulging in a book or two 😉

  2. Yeah, Jenna!!

    Mucho, mucho congrats!

    Ack! The one thing bad about being in Europe is that I can’t just run out to a Borders (or similar) and grab a copy.

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Digital Dame and Gypsycarlett!

    Well, I do have one novel finished but it needs some tweaking and I’m not sure it’s very marketable as it is. Unless I turn my hero into a vampire. Then it might sell. Hey, that’s an idea. *grin*

    And I’m grimly determined, no matter how my job situation turns out, to finish this novel I’ve been mulling about for years. I think (keeping fingers crossed) I’ve finally got the hook I need to write it. But I’m being very cautious as I work on the idea.

  4. GutterBall says:

    I, too, think the Jason Bourne character is fascinating. You really do need to watch all three that are out. The third is a little herky-jerky with the camera work, but well worth the…explanations, for lack of a better word. Heh. The understanding of the things they did…and didn’t…do to him. Heh.

    Good times.

  5. Patricia says:

    I’m glad your story is seeing print and money is on the way!! I’ve been waiting for 2 years for New Love Stories to publish the story they accepted. It is supposed to be in the July/Aug issue and hopefully I’ll get paid then. Like you, I need the money!

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Patricia, I have to ask: Why would you wait two years to get paid? Did you ever think about withdrawing the story and resubmitting it elsewhere?

  7. jennareynolds says:

    Gutterball: I’ve seen the third one and the first one I’ve seen bits and pieces of and my son has explained the whole storyline to me. I just need to sit and watch them all in sequence one of these days. But, yeah, interesting character.

    Patricia: Thanks Patricia! Wow, time is really flying. Has it been two years? I remember when your story got accepted.

  8. Joely says:

    Wheeeee! Congrats on another great release! I love the Jason Bourne movies too. We watch them over and over.

  9. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Joely!

    I have become a fan of the Bourne movies, that’s for sure. 🙂

  10. GutterBall says:

    Oh, yeah, and congratulations! *sheepish* Forgot that part in my excitement about the character. Gah!

  11. jennareynolds says:

    That’s okay, GB! Thanks and I totally understand. Jason Bourne is a fascinating character, and I’m definitely a fangirl about him now. 😀

Leave a Reply

