Rise Above It All

Writing is a leap of faith. You’re spending time writing with the hope that someone, somewhere, will like what you’re writing and publish you.

You write with the hope that once you’re published, readers will spend their hard-earned cash, read what you wrote and then like it enough to not only recommend what you wrote to others but wait, breathlessly, for you to write something more.

And you write because you can not imagine not writing.

But first you have to rise above it all. Meaning, if you’re a typical 21st century person living in a modern society, you have to rise above all the myriad things demanding your attention and keeping you away from writing.

Jobs, family, money problems, health issues, the whole crazy, chaotic world in general.

You have to find that quiet place within yourself in the midst of all that “sound and fury” that is everyday life to write. Amid all the chatter and shouts, all the blogging, text messaging, twittering, facebooking, myspacing and overall noise of our technology-driven society, you have to be able to surrender yourself to your vision. To your dream.

And, trust me, I know it can be a battle. I fight the good fight every day to find the time to write.

And if you’re working full-time or taking care of family members– whether they’re young children or elderly parents–looking for work if you’re out of work or just dealing with the slings and arrows and demands of life, it’s a hard-pitched battle to find that time to write.

So, like that hot air balloon pictured above, floating serenely over those mist-shrouded trees, if you want to write, if you truly want to get published and touch readers, you have to rise above it all, somehow, and search out the time and the space to write. Even if it’s only fifteen minutes a day.

I say fifteen minutes because I take two fifteen minute breaks at work and I write during those fifteen minutes. May just turn out to be a paragraph, or a note about a character, or questions I need to address about a plot line. Sure, it’s only fifteen minutes but it’s fifteen minutes of writing as opposed to fifteen minutes of not writing.

So my advice? Once you find that time and space, cherish it and guard it with every fiber of your being. And then write. Lose yourself in your words.

Rise above it all.

Even if it’s only for fifteen minutes a day.

11 Responses to Rise Above It All

  1. Fantastic post, Jenna!

    I have a lot more time to devote to my writing obsession than others, since I don’t have any kids, nor do I work full-time. I am awed by those who do have all that to contend with, and are able to find the balance.

    But, I do also believe that a lot of people make finding time to write even more difficult for themselves than it already might be. I realize a lot of people find things like twittering and facebook and all that fun- but they shouldn’t then complain that they had no time to write, if they spent *hours* doing that stuff.

  2. sandysays1 says:

    Writing is a passion that MUST consume you if you wish to succeed. You certainly are on the write track. A suggestion: Regardless where your writing efforts take you attending good writers conferences is a great experience. You can find them on the Net. I’ve attended many – one of the best is the Anhinga Writers Conference, I’ve attrnded 11 years – and I’ve never returned from one that I didn’t learn, broaden my craft capabilities, and make many interesting friends and connections. Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  3. Patricia says:

    So many would-be writers have the problem of no time to write because of the reasons you listed above. It is a matter of getting your priorities in order

  4. Joely says:

    *trying to be the balloon*

    Actually, I think you have been my balloon. “Meeting” you each day to write or at least set my goals and keep myself accountable helps me keep that balloon in the air. So thank you, my friend, and I’ll meet you again tomorrow!!

  5. bobbi says:

    Good job, Jenna! You are truly an inspiration.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Wonderful post. I do think we tend to complicate our live unnecessarily. We spend time watching tv, talking on cellphones, twittering, surfing the net (like I am now πŸ˜‰ ). I’m probably better off than many. I don’t have tv cable, I do not ‘tweet’, or use MySpace, or Facebook. And I’m slowly learning to do what I need to do on the net and go.

    @sandysays1: If you want to link your name to your blog so you don’t have to fuss with typing in the link all the time, go to your Dashboard, under Users, Your Profile, and fill in the web site address under Contact Info. One thing to uncomplicate your life a teensy bit πŸ˜‰

  7. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks everyone! I had actually written it for myself because yesterday I was starting to feel a bit overwhelmed with everything and was about to just not write that morning.

    You know how that is. πŸ™‚

    So I’m pleased it was able to inspire others. All of you have been inspirational to me too. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in the daily struggles with this craft and life in general, and I appreciate greatly all your words of encouragement, inspiration and camaraderie. πŸ˜€

  8. GutterBall says:

    Bless your heart, kiddo. Sometimes it seems like everything in the world is conspiring against a writer’s need to write. Work. Family. Bills. Car trouble. Home maintenance. Find a job. Find a house. Get a raise. Like the Eagles said, it’s everything all the time.

    And every time it builds to the crisis point for me, every time I think I’ll explode if the world doesn’t leave me alone long enough to put pen to page, even for five minutes, I find that it’s usually because I’ve been letting myself get sucked into stuff that, while important, takes me away from the things that feed me mentally — namely, writing.

    Sometimes, you have to do what’s right for you, and for a writer, there’s nothing more mentally nourishing than cranking out a page after life itself has taken every second from you.

    Of course, there’s also nothing worse than having an entire weekend blocked off to do nothing but write and find yourself staring at the blank page and fuming because the words won’t come. Heh. Why do we do this again??

  9. jennareynolds says:

    Well, I believe most of us write because we can not imagine not writing. May sound clichΓ©d but I really think that’s the case. At least for those who keep on writing despite all those slings and arrows of outrageous fortune.

    I mean, seriously, consider the way this business is run with all its random vagaries, its seeming illogic in terms of what gets published and what doesn’t, the fickleness of the market and you either have to be mad to keep writing in the face of all that or driven or inspired or obsessed.

    Which are all probably just variations of a theme. πŸ™‚

  10. I really like this post.

  11. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Victoria! I wrote it when I definitely needed to rise above it all.

Leave a Reply

