Three Books

I have a lot of writing to do this month. Also a lot of reading. Mostly non-fiction but I’ve managed to include some fiction here and there to keep the fictional juices flowing.

As usual, the darn weekend is rushing past, and, as usual also, I have a lot to do today before Monday dawns.

But I would like to share three books in particular that I’ve been reading.

The first is a new tarot interpretation book by Paul Quinn. Tarot for Life: Reading the Cards for Everyday Guidance and Growth is one of the best tarot interpretation books I’ve read in a long time. Not only does Quinn offer clear and concise interpretations of the tarot, he connects these interpretations with everyday life.

Now, some tarot books do that but they tend to be, in some cases, too down-to-earth, mostly talking about money and love. Others go in the opposite direction and are too “spacey”.

Quinn strikes a nice balance between the two. Just reading the book has been enlightening. I can only imagine what it will be like once I start using the book while reading the cards. I’m also finding it helpful when I use the tarot for my fiction writing.

Next up is How Not to Write a Novel: 200 Classic Mistakes and How to Avoid Them–A Misstep-by-Misstep Guide. I will say right off the bat that I have mixed feelings about this book. Some of the advice is stuff I’ve already learned but there are some good insights still to be gleaned.

The writers provide some pretty hilarious and deliberately over-the-top examples of what not to do in a novel. And, again, if you’re been writing fiction for a while, it may sound like old news.

I’ve not yet finished the book but have enjoyed most of what I’ve read so far.

Finally, there’s Spinning Straw into Gold: What Fairy Tales Reveal About the Transformations in a Woman’s Life.

This is fast becoming one of my favorite books. I loved reading fairy tales when I was a child. And, as a result of writing a short story for an anthology that’s looking for erotic fairy tales, I’ve started reading them again. I picked this book up from the library, intrigued by its title and gorgeous cover.

This is definitely a book you can judge by its cover. And title. I’ve gotten so many ideas for stories from just the first 30 pages of this book! And not only for the erotic fairy tale anthology but for others. I even got an idea for a YA novel as a result of reading this book! I definitely plan to buy it at some point. It’s that good!

So there you have them. Three books out of the table full of books I’m trying to read now, and the stacks upon stacks and shelves upon shelves of books in my home that I have yet to read.

I know you’ve heard it before but I’m sure some of you can relate so here we go again.

So many books, so little time. πŸ™‚

6 Responses to Three Books

  1. Amy Ruttan says:

    I know, too many books and very little time. Though my days spent beside the baby’s crib in between feeding created a three book notch in my TBR pile! πŸ™‚

  2. I love that cover, too. It looks like Rossetti?

  3. Patricia says:

    All three books look like great reads! Especially the one on fairy tales.

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I have so many Tarot books now, I hesitate to pick up any more. I may have to at least thumb through it at the bookstore.

    If you’re interested in fairy tales, anything by Maria Tatar, Marie-Louise von Franz or Bruno Bettelheim might be of interest. They’re more critical deconstructions and social analyses.

  5. “I may have to at least thumb through it at the bookstore. ”

    Which means it’ll be going up to the cash register with you. πŸ˜‰

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Hehe, it could very well.

Leave a Reply

