Sweet Spot and LB&LI

This coming Friday my first book under my very own name (well, nom de plume) will be released at Ellora’s Cave. It’s titled Sweet Spot and can be purchased here on Friday.

All my previous publications have been short stories in anthologies. I’m excited but also quite nervous because instead of just being one of a number of writers in a book I’m out here all on my own! Shudder! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the blurb for the book.

Alice Parker loves sweets and nothing gives her more pleasure than whipping up a sizzling batch of erotic candy. Especially for the bachelorette party her best friend is holding for her daughter. That is, until she meets Edward Larkin. Now all Alice can think about is how to get the hunky orthodontist into bed so she can slowly lick every luscious inch of him.

Edward doesnโ€™t eat sweets and often warns his patients about overindulging. So the last thing he wants to hear is that Alice, the very sexy candy store owner, is providing a huge candy buffet for his nieceโ€™s wedding. A wedding he has come to town to stop. One way or another.

Alice is a tempting treat Edward just has to sampleโ€”and one taste might never be enough.

You can read an excerpt from Sweet Spot here

I was sorta riffing off the idea of making your hero a firefighter and your heroine an arsonist. Anyway, I had fun writing it. ๐Ÿ˜€

My other news is that I plan to participate in Paperback Writer’s Left Behind and Loving It, which is a series of online workshops being offered for those of us who are not attending the RWA National Convention currently be held this week in Washington D.C.

My accountability pal and fellow writer Joely Sue Burkhart will do a tag-team blog post on writing sex scenes. That is, how to write sex scenes that readers will not only not skip over but that will matter to the story.

We plan to post tomorrow, so stay tuned for that.

Anyone who comments on the sex scenes post on Wednesday will be eligible to win a print copy of Ellora’s Cavemen – Jewels of the Nile Volume I which contains my futuristic short story “The Emissary”

15 Responses to Sweet Spot and LB&LI

  1. Joely says:

    Woo-hoo, I’ve been waiting for this one! It sounds like a treat indeed, Jenna. I can’t wait until tomorrow’s posts!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Joely! Yeah, I think our tag-team posts will be fun. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Lori! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. You could totally use candy for promo, too.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Victoria! Hey, that’s a good idea! Everybody loves candy! Well, everybody but the hero of the story. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Look at you go! Yay you!

  7. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, DD! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Amy Ruttan says:

    Congrats on the first ever your name only on the cover book!

  9. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Amy! It’s exciting but a bit scary. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. That is so awesome! I am mucho happy for you. Unfortunately, I can’t order it now (staying away from credit card use) and I doubt any stores will have it here in Germany. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    But I will look for it the next time I’m in the States.

  11. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Gypsyscarlett!

    Actually, it’s not available in print. Only as an e-pub. Some of the EC books come out in print eventually but all pretty much start out as e-pubs.

  12. Ah. Well, hopefully at some point I’ll be able to order it in the electric version.

    I did read the excerpt. I especially liked the first line of the seventh paragraph. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. jennareynolds says:

    Gypsycarlett: Oh, yeah, the “specialty” candy. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

