Avatar

James Cameron’s Avatar is scheduled for release later this year.

Avatar is set during the 22nd century on a small moon called Pandora, which orbits a gas giant, and is inhabited by the tribal Na’vi, ten foot tall, blue humanoids that are peaceful unless attacked. Humans cannot breathe Pandora air, so they genetically engineer human/Na’vi hybrids known as Avatars that can be controlled via a mental link.

A paralyzed Marine named Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) volunteers to exist as an Avatar on Pandora, falling in love with a Na’vi princess and becoming caught up in the conflict between her people and the human military that is consuming their world. (from Wikipedia entry).

The film also stars Zoe Saldana (the new Uhuru) as the Na’vi princess, Neytiri, Sigourney Weaver (whom Cameron worked with in Aliens), Michelle Rodriguez and Giovanni Ribisi.

The movie is being filmed in some high-tech, super-duper, 3D-computer generated technology that I’m not going to even pretend to understand.

Thursday, Cameron showed a preview of the movie to attendees of ComicCon in San Diego, which has evolved—or some might say devolved—beyond comics and become an ΓΌber-convention of epic proportions for all things genre-related.

It is THE place to be if you love sci-fi, horror, comics, fantasy, or whatever’s considered popular entertainment. Seriously, if you get a chance go to the link above for ComicCon and just check out the schedule for the con. It’s humongous.

Also, in true Cameron style (remember his I’m the King of the World Academy Award acceptance speech) he has declared August 21st “Avatar Day.” Which means that all around the world at various Imax and movie theaters people will be able to see a 15 minute preview of the movie for free.

Now, notwithstanding my rather barbed poke at Cameron in above paragraph, I do want to see this movie. First because there has been a dearth of sci-fi movies at the theaters of late.

Oh, there’s been a few but to be honest they were either deadly dull or took themselves waaaay too seriously for me to really enjoy.

*cough* Solaris *cough* Sunshine

Star Trek was a lot of fun (waiting breathlessly for DVD release) and I’m hungering for more. Now, from what I’ve been able to gather, however, Avatar doesn’t sound like it’s going to be something you can take the kiddies to but I don’t know too much about that as information, so far, is rather scarce.

I do know there’s some kind of Romeo/Juliet romance between Worthington and Saldana’s character (who is entirely computer generated) and there’s conflict between the humans and the Na’vi. But that’s about it.

But based on this quote from an article from the Associated Press– “Avatar” introduces viewers to the planet of Pandora, where the lithe, blue, indigenous Na’vi people inhabit a lush and wondrous place dense with green forests, fluorescent pink flowers, bizarre hammerhead dinosaurs and flying dragons.—I’m planning on seeing it and looking forward to seeing it.

Some have likened Avatar to John Carter on Mars. Never read John Carter on Mars, so wouldn’t know. All I know is that I’m currently working on a space opera, having fun writing it, and I’d like to see more romantic, adventurous sci-fi movies and books.

So, Avatar? Yeah, I’m there.

14 Responses to Avatar

  1. The blue people will Look Cool, at least, even if the movie turns out to be a dud!

  2. Amy Ruttan says:

    Oooh that sounds cool!

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Victoria: Yeah, that at least. I really do hope, however, that it doesn’t turn out to be a dud. I’m really jonesing for some space opera/sci-fi adventure. πŸ™‚

    Amy: It does, doesn’t it? I just hope Cameron delivers on it. I hear he’s a perfectionist when it comes to making movies, which can be good and bad.

  4. Fingers crossed that it’s a goody.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Got my fingers crossed too!

  6. Digital Dame says:

    There’s always a dearth of good sci-fi films. I sure hope this turns out well. Not big on the whole CGI thing, or MOCAP, whichever they’re using. (Did you see “Beowulf”? Ghastly) I haven’t read John Carter of Mars either, the movie is in pre-production, targeting a 2012 release. I saw both Solaris (the US version) and Sunshine. The former was instantly forgettable, the latter could have been good, but devolved into a horror-fest with the whole Pinbacker character. I hate when sci-fi simply becomes horror set in space (Event Horizon springs to mind). I prefer my sci-fi thought-provoking to chill-inducing.

  7. Patricia says:

    Sounds like an interesting movie. I saw the trailer for Sherlock Holmes with R. Downey and Jude Law. It looks like it is going to be so good! Lots of action and some humor.

  8. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: I probably wouldn’t have had as much of an issue with Beowulf if the writing and the plot had been better. I don’t mind CGI and, hopefully, they have improved on what happened with Beowulf. The first Alien movie was a sci-fi horror flick but I liked that one. Actually, come to think of it, I think that’s the only sci-fi horror flick I do like. πŸ™‚

    Patricia: I saw that trailer for Sherlock Holmes. I can’t resist Victorian London, gaslights and corsets so I’ll probably be checking it out. πŸ™‚

  9. Digital Dame says:

    They really wrecked Beowulf. The storyline of the movie had almost nothing to do with the original poem. I’m sure they just wanted to sex it up, make it more appealing to modern audiences. I was pretty disgusted with it.

    I haven’t seen the trailer for Sherlock Holmes, but I admit to having serious doubts about Robert Downey Jr. as Holmes. For one thing, I don’t think he’s old enough, and I guess I still have the image of Basil Rathbone as the quintessential Holmes stuck in my head.

  10. Digital Dame says:

    Just ran across this on io9:

    Are You Ready for the Avatar Backlash?

    Some of the commenters near the bottom are blaming Cameron and his ego and loud mouth for overhyping the film so badly it can never live up to expectations.

  11. jennareynolds says:

    Oh, I’m sure there will be a backlash. But what isn’t over-hyped these days? That’s part of the problem with most movies, television shows, etc. The hype never matches the expectations.

    Well, it’s no skin off my nose if the movie blows. I just wanted to see a good sci-fi movie. If Cameron can’t deliver maybe someone, someday, will. πŸ™‚

  12. Digital Dame says:

    I’m sure the movie will be interesting anyway, even if it doesn’t ‘revolutionize’ CG πŸ˜‰ There were a couple other articles over on the right sidebar about it as well that I haven’t had time to read. I had no idea this thing has been in production for long, your post here is the first I’ve heard of it.

  13. jennareynolds says:

    Cameron is an old-style pitchman. Like someone from the old carny days. He’s gotta do what he’s gotta do and say what he’s gotta say to sell those tickets, I guess. Marketing, hype, promotion, those are the catchwords today πŸ™‚

    Actually, it was my brother who tipped me off to the movie as I had heard nothing about it either.

  14. Digital Dame says:

    I just wanted to add I went to see the new Harry Potter flick this weekend, and caught the trailer for the upcoming Sherlock Holmes flick. I can’t say it really sparked any interest for me. It just reeked of “Wild, Wild West” (the new version with Will Smith), only set in London.

Leave a Reply

