August Already!

Here we are, August already. Around here, this past July, we had record cool temperatures so it’s sorta been feeling like the beginning of autumn and yesterday, August 1st, it was downright chilly last night!

That’s not to say we still might not get really hot weather in August and, especially, September. For some reason it gets really steamy those first few weeks of September. At least around here.

Lammas is also celebrated around this time. It marks the middle of summer and the beginning of the harvest season. My son said a man at his job was worried that his tomatoes are not ripening due to the unusually cool weather we’ve had.

I usually try to set new goals for the new month but I had already done that back in July due to the fact I have three submissions I must submit this month and quite a few writing projects for the upcoming fall season.

Fall usually proves to be my most productive writing season. I think it’s a combination of the shorter days, the cooler weather and, perhaps, the remembrance of school days past. You recall, don’t you? The start of a new school term, the purchasing of school supplies and books, new teachers, new subjects, new friends and nemesis to face in school. I think all that is still ingrained in us even if we haven’t been in school in years.

School supplies are already burgeoning on the shelves of department stores and, although the public schools don’t start in this state until after Labor Day, other schools will be starting their new term later this month.

I live in a university-centered city, so in just over two weeks the over 40,000 students who attend the university will be returning en masse to move into the dorms and off-campus housing and apartments. I live only a few miles from campus and it’s a BIG difference as to what the downtown area is like during the summer when most of the students are gone.

But for now, it’s still only August and things are still pretty slow and easy. No big yellow school buses chugging down the street, no hoards of college students packed inside the city buses snaking their way to campus, no caravans of bicyclists weaving through traffic or mopeds whizzing down the streets.

As for me, autumn is my favorite season so I’m looking forward to it. But I’ll enjoy August for now. Especially if it says as pleasantly cool as it has been this past July. (I doubt that). I’m not a fan of hot sticky, weather so this historically cool July was perfect for me.

6 Responses to August Already!

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Good Lughnasadh! I can tell you where the heat has been: out here. It was well into the 100s for several days, and we’re now cooling down to the mid-90s during the days, upper 60s at night. Blech. I am so ready for fall. Some of the top leaves in the maple trees are already turning, maybe as a result of the intense heat we’ve had. Even the trees gave up and decided to pack it in early this year! I’m gearing up for Halloween, myself šŸ™‚

  2. jennareynolds says:

    We did not get over 82 in July for a high and that’s very unusual around here. But as I suspected the warm weather is coming back. We’re supposed to get near 90 by the end of the week and into next week.

    I’ve experienced a number of those 100 plus days with the high humidity and, until recently, without a/c. Terrible! Sometimes at night when it was that hot and sticky it felt like I couldn’t breathe! So I feel your pain!

  3. Ed says:

    I’ve certainly enjoyed the mild summer around Michigan this year. So far we’ve only had a few uncomfortably hot days, and one at a time. Hardly worth turning on the air conditioning. Makes for good writing weather, on in my case lately, packing and moving weather.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    It was definitely a great month for anyone who had to move around here. And hardly any rain but we definitely need the rain and some hot days for some of the crops, from what little I know about farming. šŸ™‚

    However, I have much enjoyed the cooler temps. But summer’s not gone yet. We’re going to hit 90 and sticky this weekend.

  5. Patricia says:

    Autumn is my favorite season too! I love the colors. School starts back here tomorrow. But, back when I went to school, it was always the Tuesday after Labor Day.

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Seriously? School starts today in your area? Wow. Here it’s the day after Labor Day. They actually made it a state law because the resorts suffered if their mostly high-school workforce went back to school before the last holiday of the summer.

Leave a Reply

