Ouch! Redux

I didn’t get another paper cut on my finger.

I read my first review of my first solo venture as an author and it was a bad one. I mean, a really bad one!

Yikes! And boy does it hurts! Nothing like being told all your hard work was for naught because you basically screwed up on the characters. That the reviewer hated your characters!

Well, I’ve got a choice. I can either let it get me down, pull into port and refuse to go back out to sea or I can continue on, full steam ahead.

I’m going to keep writing, of course, because I can’t not write, but I *ouch* won’t lie or try to be coy *wince* that review *grimace* really hurt.

8 Responses to Ouch! Redux

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I’m so sorry the first review was so vitriolic. Was this person anyone of any merit? Is there anything of value to be gleaned from any of his/her comments? If you can find something useful in it, that’s great. Mostly I think you should just shake it off. Seriously. I know that sounds like a pat answer, and the kind of thing any friend would say, but we can’t let one person’s opinion deter us.

    I realized awhile back that there will always be someone, somewhere, who will absolutely HATE anything I may ever write and publish, and sometimes those people have a venue to vent that hatred. So be it. It’s part and parcel of this game. I realize that’s easy for me to say now, never having had anything published, I’m just hoping when the day comes I’ll be able to be the duck and let it roll off my back. Every writer gets bad reviews from someone. Keep on truckin’ girlfriend!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Digital Dame!

    As for gleaming anything of merit from the review, no not really. She (or he) pretty much hated all my characters and said my story was annoying and predictable. Ouch!

    To be honest, contemporary romance is not really my genre of choice as I prefer to write fantasy, SF, paranormal, etc. Not offering an excuse, just staying that’s what I write usually.

    So perhaps I was out of my comfort zone with this particular story. She said my characters were over-the-top and, yeah, I have to admit, when I write paranormal, SF, fantasy, my characters are over the top but then so are my plots. Vampires? Aliens? Werewolves. Oh, yeah, definitely over-the-top. πŸ™‚

    So I may have to accept, if I get more reviews along this line, that contemporary romance just isn’t my forte. And that’s definitely a valuable lesson to learn.

    Because, you’re right, I do try to learn something, from the good and the bad. So I guess I’ll see if any other reviews pop up saying the same thing she (or he) said in their review.

    Oh, I keep saying he or she because I couldn’t tell from the blog whether reviewer was male or female.

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Well, that’s ok then, if romance isn’t really your bag. It’s certainly not mine, I don’t read them and would never attempt to write one. Nor mysteries. I could no more plot a convincing whodunit than I could swim the English Channel (trust me, it ain’t happenin’). And if all you get out of it is that this isn’t where you should be expending your energies, that’s good too. Focus on what you love.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Actually, I do like writing romances, I just usually favor romances with that touch of the otherworldliness about it. πŸ˜‰

    But romances set in the real world with real people doing real things is not something I, as a rule, write. So, yeah, if contemporary romances are not where I should be expending my writing energies, that’s a good thing to know right off the bat I suppose.

    I just looked over my list of writing projects for this year and next and they’re all definitely non-contemporary romances. Paranormals, time-travel, SF, fantasy, even a Gothic western. πŸ™‚

  5. Joely says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I had one reviewer say that my heroine “set her teeth on edge.” When the characters annoy the reviewer, they’re not going to be able to enjoy the story, no matter how well written it might be.

    Hugs, have some chocolate, watch some Christian Bale or Viggo or your hero of your choice, and write another book, because I, for one, adore your stories and your characters!!!

    P.S. You gave me the courage to talk about my own bad review today!

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks so much Joely! πŸ˜€

    Well, ALL my characters pretty much annoyed the reviewer. I don’t think she left out one of them to comment on in her review. Ouch again!

    Actually, I did have some chocolate last evening and started watching the extended version of LOTR. So, yeah, Viggo it was. πŸ˜€ Which I plan to watch this weekend as it’s going to be hot and sticky and I pretty much will be staying in. That is, watching LOTR in between working on my writing, of course. πŸ˜‰

  7. Jenna,

    First- sorry I missed this when you first posted about it. Just reading it now.

    Nothing wrong about being sad over a negative review. You’re human!

    But of course, it’s important not to let it keep you down in anyway. Remember, no one likes everything. There’s not one single book that every single person loves, or even likes.

    You wrote a book that was good enough to be published. And now an untold number is reading it and enjoying it.

  8. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks Gypsyscarlett! You are so right. Books that I love and adore some people absolutely hate and books that others coo over you couldn’t pay me to read. πŸ™‚ It’s the nature of this business. It’s so totally subjective.

Leave a Reply

