Supernatural

Last night I watched two back-to-back episodes of Supernatural.

I had started watching Supernatural back when it premiered in 2006 and I really liked it.

Dean and Sam Winchester battle all kinds of things that go bump in the night while traveling the country in their 1967 Chevrolet Impala. The show is kind of a Route 66 version of the supernatural world as a lot of the places that Dean and Sam wind up in are towns that you can only get to on two lane roads. Dean and Sam don’t get paid for what they do so they have to find ways to support themselves like pool hustling and poker winnings.

The problem for me, however, is that I missed quite a few seasons of Supernatural. Most of them in fact. Darn it. Not because I disliked the show. Far from it. I love the show.

But I always seemed to be doing something else when it was on. I don’t have the money to buy or rent the seasons I have missed and my friendly neighborhood library only has Seasons 1 and 2 on DVD and I’ve seen those. It’s Seasons 3 and 4 I need to catch up on. Oh, well, I’ll just read the synopses of the episodes online so I’ll at least have some idea of what’s going on.

So, yeah, after watching the two episodes last night, with a garrison of angels fighting against demons trying to break these 66 mystical seals in order to free Lucifer, with Sam apparently drinking the blood of demons in order to take on some pretty scary powers, and Dean having gone to Hell and, as a result, taken part in torturing souls and breaking the first of the seals, and now, apparently, the only one who can stop the pending Apocalypse, when the 5th season premieres on September 10th I’m there!

I just hope I can remember it’s on or I’m not doing something else. ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, yeah, I’m moving apace with my vampire story and other projects.

7 Responses to Supernatural

  1. Patricia says:

    I have never seen this series, but it sounds interesting.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I missed about two seasons of it but I like it primarily due to the relationship between the two brothers, Sam and Dean, and, as I mentioned, the road trip feel of it. Stuff doesn’t happen in this series in the big cities but in the smaller towns, the by-the-way places of this country.

    And there’s a new character, Castiel, who’s an angel but the angels in this series are not entirely benevolent. Castiel does God’s will but he has no qualms about sacrificing innocents to accomplish his mission. He can’t be seen in his true form for it would blind people so he possess a human host, a man named James Novak.

    Anyway, I like it and I hope to catch up someday on the episodes I missed but I’m definitely going to watch this season, especially since it might be their last though I hope not.

  3. Digital Dame says:

    I only ever saw one or two episodes of this show, the first season. As I recall it got off to a very gory start.

    There’s plenty of precedent for angels who are not the sweetness-and-light, hand-holding guardians of current pop culture. Most Biblical accounts of them describe them as terrifying beings, wielding swords, wreathed in flame. Many of them are quite war-like. Our current concept of them as personal guardians and loving guides is a very recent construct. And that’s not even counting the ‘fallen’ angels ๐Ÿ˜‰ I may have to check out the show again.

  4. I’d also like to see this show. Have heard lots of good stuff about it.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: I have to say, at least from a dramatic and fictional perspective, I prefer the angels you describe to the ones in shows like “Touched by an Angel” but in real life the angels you describe would scare me! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gypyscarlett: My Mom has actually kept up with it better than I have. There are some episodes she’s not too crazy about but all in all she likes the show.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    Oh nuts, I meant to look up Castiel in my “Dictionary of Angels” book but forgot. I’ll check when I get home this evening, see if he’s listed or if they made him up for the show.

    Gypsy, it looks like there are a lot of sites online where you can watch older episodes of the show.

    Oh, there used to be a show on BBC America (back when I had cable) but it’s canceled now, called “Hex” about a girl who gets pregnant by a fallen angel, Azazeal. I thought it was pretty good for awhile, but they killed the girl off way too early. Then it just kind of lost any direction it might have had.

  7. jennareynolds says:

    I had looked up the name Castiel in the angel reference books that I have and all they say is that Castiel is the angel of Thursday. Maybe that’s why they picked the name. Because there isn’t much lore out about that particular angel so they could run with the character any way they wanted. The character of Castiel, by the way, became so popular with fans he’s featured in the majority of the upcoming fifth season episodes.

    Back in 2006 ABC Family showed a miniseries call “The Fallen”, which was based on a series of YA novels. It told the story of a young man who discovers he’s half human/half angel. And there are a lot of angel characters, including Azazel, Camael and even Kushiel, who is featured prominently in Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel series of fantasy novels.

    I’d heard about that BBC series “Hex” but never got a chance to see it.

Leave a Reply

