Just Stuff

UPDATE: I just found out about this new manga and I can’t wait to read it. Here’s a synopsis:

Edo Japan, Tokugawa Shogunate. A boy goes into the forest and is mauled by a bear. Carried back to the village, he brings with him more than just a bloodied body—he brings back a deadly disease which becomes known as the Redface Pox.

Only the country’s men are vulnerable, and within eighty years, the male population has fallen to about a fourth its former number. Women assume most of the roles usually performed by men—they even become Japan’s rulers. Men, meanwhile, have become prized, privileged commodities that are carefully cosseted and protected. The most beautiful of these men get sent to the Ôoku as concubines of the fabled Inner Chamber of the Tokugawa shogun. This is the story of these prized men…and the remarkable woman whom they serve.

The Ōoku, by the way, refers to the section of Edo Castle where the women connected to the reigning Shōgun resided; mothers, wives, concubines.

I gotta read this one! The first volume was published this month and subsequent ones are forthcoming.

End of UPDATE. 🙂

Dew point. Most of the time I could care less what the dew point is (which is the temperature at which the air can no longer hold all of its water vapor, and some of the water vapor must condense into liquid water).

But when that darn dew point gets over 60, which it has been the last few days around here, and gets to 70 which it did yesterday, man, do you feel it. Like breathing water. Yuck!

Below is a chart showing how we humans perceive dew points. Of course, in late fall and winter, when that dew points drops below 50, you also feel it because the air is so dry it feels like your skin is cracking. That’s when I have to keep a bottle of lotion around all the time.

75°+ Extremely uncomfortable, oppressive
70° – 74° Very Humid, quite uncomfortable
65° – 69° Somewhat uncomfortable for most people
at upper limit
60° – 64° OK for most, but everyone perceives the humidity
at upper limit
55° – 59° Comfortable
50° – 54° Very comfortable
49° – or lower Feels like the western US a bit dry to some

I’ve experienced a few above 70 dew points and it really does feel like the air is just soup. Almost like you can’t breathe it’s so thick with moisture.

Anyway, we’re supposed to get back to more comfortable dew points by tomorrow.

I’m currently reading the manga Emma and I am thoroughly enjoying it.

Not only is it beautifully drawn but the romance is lovely and would, I think, make a charming movie. (I read that it’s been turned into an anime but I think it would also make a nice live-action movie).

The author, Kaoru Mori. extensively researched the Victorian era and it shows in her beautifully detailed drawings. There are scenes that tore my heart, such as this one, and I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

I’m working on my vampire story but I’m taking my time with it. There’s no hard deadline on it so I can submit it when I want. I had planned to submit it today but there are still a few things I’m not quite happy with. And I’m not submitting it until I am nearly 100% happy with it since I know I will never be 100% happy with anything I write. 🙂

6 Responses to Just Stuff

  1. Amy Ruttan says:

    Two books I had intended for the Dance theme got so big that I’m just subbing as stand alones, when I finish them.

    I’m really bummed about that 2 part Deathly Hallows. I’m not patient. LOL!!

    I love Anime and Manga. I haven’t read any Manga but I do love the drawings, always have.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I had wanted to write something for the Dance theme but didn’t have enough time to make the deadline. But I’ve kept my notes and hope to submit the story at some point as I was really pretty excited about it. 🙂

    I hear you about the breaking up of the last HP book into two movies. Yeah, more money for Warner Brothers but I’m not patient either! Grrr! I actually just finished re-reading Book Seven of HP and was trying to figure out just where exactly they will break the book into the two parts.

    I think you would like the Emma manga. Some people have said it moves too slow but the drawings are so lovely and the story is so charming that didn’t bother me at all.

    I’ve actually become quite a fan of manga, once I got used to reading it right to left. 🙂 I’m also reading this series called Ceres: Celestial Legend and I’ve got two more series on hold at the library. I’m impressed by the fact that so many of the manga are both illustrated and written by the same person!

    Actually, I’m enjoying Emma so much it’s on my wish list to buy someday. 🙂

  3. Ooku sounds AWESOME. Thanks for the rec.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Doesn’t it? I can’t wait to read it.

  5. Emma sounds cool. Victorian manga/anime? Not something I could easily resist…

  6. jennareynolds says:

    It’s really a delight to read. And the drawings are amazing. Kaoru Mori did a lot of research in order to draw and write this manga and it shows. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

