Vampires on the Brain


I’ve got vampires on the brain. I’ve been revising my erotic vampire story. It’s nearly done and I plan to submit it, with hope, today.

I’ve come to the conclusion that maybe the reason there are so many vampire stories being written is because, well, they’re kinda fun to write. Okay, I know that’s not the case but I thought I’d share my insight anyway. I mean, we all know it’s the market that drives what gets published.

Isn’t it?

Hmmm, I think I’ll just drop that particular topic. Whenever I start thinking about what drives what gets published I get a headache.

Suffice to say, I am having fun with this vampire story. Now, my vampire has to be a romantic vampire because I’m writing a romantic erotic vampire story but I find that I enjoy writing a character who isn’t human and doesn’t necessarily feel bound by human laws or morals but, because he’s attracted to the heroine (and also needs to survive), he has to at least adhere to those laws and morals as far as he is able to.

In this particular story I’m not trying to turn the vampire mythos on its head. I pretty much stick with the standard vampire tropes.

So, yeah, I’ve got vampires on the brain. But once the story is done I’ll be turning to another genre, fantasy, for a bit before I go back to the vamps.

Oh, yeah, the pic is of Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt from Interview with a Vampire. They’re in New Orleans. Dining.

Notice that strange ring on Cruise’s thumb. That’s what Lestat, the character he plays, uses to open the veins on his victims. Pretty cool if not also utterly morbid.

8 Responses to Vampires on the Brain

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Ha, you and me, both! My vampire character is on my mind 24/7, I swear. And for all that I’m making surprisingly little progress these days. It’s frustrating. 😦

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame, is it a problem with the story or are you having difficulty finding the time to write? Both situations can be so frustrating to deal with so I hear you. 😦

    I just submitted the vampire story I blogged about in this post. It’s only 14,000 words but I have to say I’m happy I’m done with it because I have other stuff I need to work on and now I can. 🙂

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Well, it’s a little of both. I finally broke 40,000 words a couple days ago so I felt good about that, but considering I’ve been working on this thing since May — it’s pretty much slowed to a trickle. I guess it’s this mid-way syndrome. You get off to a great start, then about halfway in the flow gets dammed up. I just have to keep at it, it’ll break free again.

    Congrats on the submission!

  4. jennareynolds says:

    40,000 words is fantastic!

    I think that happens to everyone with every writing project. Those middle-of-the-book blues. You’ll break through it.

    Once you’ve put in that many words, you’ll be compelled to finish it. And it’ll be, as you noted, like a dam breaking free. 🙂

  5. Patricia says:

    I didn’t know that about the ring!

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Here’s a close up of it.

    http://www.houseofnetherworld.com/jewe_lesring.html

    I thought it was pretty cool.

  7. DD,

    I can totally relate. Writing the middle of PORTRAITS was torturous. Just keep writing. The breakthrough comes when you least expect it.

    Jenna,

    Yeah for writing what you find is fun. I just switched WIPs for the same reason. (no vamps, though)

  8. jennareynolds says:

    I’m beginning to think that one might as well enjoy the process of writing as everything else beyond that can be pretty stressful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

