Emma

I finished reading the manga series Emma this week and what a delight it was.

I have to admit I usually go for the darker stuff when it comes to my choice of reading material but reading Emma was like drinking tea in a delicate little china cup.

Not that there wasn’t passion and dark moments in the series, but it’s basically a very sweet romance between two people who shouldn’t have fallen in love but did and the forces arrayed against them, both internally and externally, to keep them apart.

It was utterly charming to read and someday I plan to buy the whole series as it’s definitely a keeper. The art work was exquisite and Kaoru Mori conveyed the most delicate and the most passionate of emotions with her drawings. Her research of the Victorian era shows in every panel of this manga and I highly recommend it to anyone who plans to write a Victorian-era story.

Speaking of Victorian-era fiction, Gypsy Scarlett is writing a steampunk. Very cool! I loved steampunk even before I knew what it was. šŸ™‚

I have a steampunk story that I had drafted but set aside to work on something else. After reading Emma I’m itching to get back to it. A book I found extremely helpful—for the domestic side of Victorian life—is Inside the Victorian Home

The book takes you room by room through a Victorian household and is very useful for all the little details you may want to include in your Victorian-set story.




Oh, and still in line with the Victorian Era. If you have the Turner Classic Movie Channel, The Lodger is on tonight at 7:00 CST. It’s a movie I blogged about some time ago. Another version of Jack The Ripper starring Merle Oberon and Laird Creger. It’s very good and very evocative of the period.

But, for now, before I can return to gaslights and corsets, I need to get back to knights, witches and vampires.

2 Responses to Emma

  1. Hey Jenna,

    Thanks for the mention. Now, I hope I can do this steampunk story justice. But despite the challenges, I really am having fun with it.

    I’ll be very interested in hearing more about yours!

    I have “Inside the Victorian Home”. Excellent, indeed. My parents picked me up, “Victorian America”. Can’t wait to dive into that when my package arrives.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Glad to hear you’re having fun with it. I know I was having fun researching and writing mine. Hope to get back to it at some point.

    The library has a copy of “Victorian America”. I’ll have to pick it up and take a look at it. Looks interesting!

Leave a Reply

