9 to 5

I’m going to be working temporarily starting tomorrow.

The job sucks (I’ve worked at this place before though not in this particular job) and so does the pay but one can’t be choosy these days I guess. Fortunately, it is temporary and, with hope, I will find something better.

So, in light of the fact I’ll be at work all day, I will be cutting back my time online substantialy in order to accommodate my writing and will therefore probably only post to this blog once a week. Maybe twice.

I’m sure that will be a blow to the millions of readers of this blog but alas wage slavery calls. Ugh!

But, again, I shouldn’t complain. It’s hard out there and I must be grateful for what I can get but, trust me, this ain’t what I’d usually be trying to get or do if things were a lot better.

I’ll have to go back to my early morning, late evening, weekend writing schedule but most of the writing I’ve done I’ve done while working a 40 hour work week. So no big thang there. Just business as usual.

However, I don’t spend as much time online when I’m working so that I can devote as much of my free time to my writing.

So, anyway, just a FYI about all that as I go off humming Dolly Parton’s 9 to 5.

Workin’ nine to five
What a way to make a livin’
Barely gettin’ by
It’s all takin’ and no givin’
They just use your mind
And they never give you credit
It’s enough to drive you
Crazy if you let it

6 Responses to 9 to 5

  1. Yay money. It’s not forever, right?

  2. Digital Dame says:

    Congrats on getting another temp assignment. They’re starting to say the economy is beginning to turn around, housing sales were up which is a good sign. Maybe this will be the last bad temp job, and you’ll find something permanent (and good!) soon. I had some awful temp jobs over the years, I feel your pain.

  3. Patricia says:

    I work full-time and it is tough to find time for blogging especially. I’ve been thinking about just doing a Facebook page instead but have no time to look into that right now.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Victoria: I’ve worked at this place before and I know exactly where I’ll be and it sucks. But I’ll just detach myself emotionally from all the suckiness of it and think about my writing. 🙂

    DD: I hope the economy does turn around soon because these crappy temp jobs (when you can find them, that is) are for the birds.

    Patricia: Yeah, unfortunately when I’m working, although I love to blog, it has to take a backseat to my writing. The writing has to come first.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Actually, the $$ sucks big time. I’m just glad it’s only for a short while.

Leave a Reply

