Confusion

This was my mind yesterday at the temp assignment. Oh, what I’ve been given to do is so simple it’s mind-achingly boring, but the department I’m working in?

I felt like Dorothy in the middle of that twister except I never made it to Oz. People are being moved from cubie to cubie; directives are issued then rescinded; staff is told to go left then immediately afterwards, no go right.

And people wonder why I’d rather make a living writing?

5 Responses to Confusion

  1. I used to be a temp, and yeah, someplaces were vile.

    I did luck out with some really nice places. At one, (a very small office) all they wanted me to do was answer the phone, which rang less than five times each day. I didn’t want to seem like a bad worker, so I asked if they were sure there wasn’t anything they’d like typed, filed, faxed, etc. They said, no, and apologised to *me* for having such a boring job. I said, “No. That’s fine. Just let me know if anything comes up. I’ll be happy to help out.”

    So, I ended up getting paid to sit there reading a book and surfing the net everyday for two weeks. Heavenly! When it was over, they called my temp boss and told her what a great worker I was and they’d ask for me in the future. πŸ™‚

    Go figure!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I’ve had temp assignments exactly like the one you described. Some, I just sat and read all day. They just wanted a warm body I guess. I had one where I too just surfed the net all day and they said it was okay. It’s usually those assignments where they just want someone to pick up a stray phone call or sign for Fed-Ex packages. πŸ˜€

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Well, that’s the one good thing about it being a temp assignment, at least you didn’t sign on for a permanent job with these assklowns. My main gripe with some temp assignments is you get there, and everyone ignores you and won’t tell you anything. I realize there generally isn’t a lot of training on temp jobs, but I had one where I had to run around asking where the printer was. Luckily, that was only a 3-day assignment.

  4. DD,

    I found that most places were either filled with extremely helpful and welcoming people or filled with the type you just described above. Very few in between.

    And yeah, I do recall searching for things…I loved when they would look surprised that I didn’t know where something was. Even though I’d just arrived, maybe, ten minutes ago.

    Later, when I was a manager in a bookshop and we had temps over the holiday, I made sure to remember what it was like for them.

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Yep, that’s definitely a good thing it’s short-term. (The work is horribly mind-numbing too. Data entry. Ugh!) The manager of the department doesn’t appear to really know what she’s doing so I feel for the employees who have to work under her.

    I’ve been pretty lucky so far in that even though I usually do get ignored as “just a temp”, if I have questions people have been pretty good about answering them.

    Gypsyscarlett: That truism about walking a mile in someone else’s shoes is so true, isn’t it. There are two temps with me on this assignment and they had no idea what to do with their timesheets as they both were first-time ever temps and, of course, the regular employees weren’t or didn’t know how to help them so I showed them what to do.

Leave a Reply

