Writing While Working

The title of my blog post, I realize, can be read two ways. I don’t mean to say I’m working on my writing while I’m at work. I mean to say I’m back to squeezing in my writing before and after work. 🙂

I had said I wouldn’t be posting that much now that I’m working again (only temporarily) but since the nature of my assignment pretty much prevents me from being online at all during the workday, I find myself missing being online.

So, here I am again, posting. 🙂

It’s early Saturday morning and my plans are to go to the library, pick up some books I put on hold and then spend most of today and tomorrow reading and writing.

I was able to slide right back into my very early morning weekday writing schedule and I find that working again has made me more focused. I guess it’s knowing I don’t have all day to write that makes the time I do have to write more precious. Makes me really get down to it.

I’m itching to get back to my steampunk novella but I have to finish up some pending projects (projects I’ve finished but just need to revise or tweak) before I start anything new. So I’m mostly revising right now. But since I consider revising to be the meat and potatoes of the writing process, I’m actually doing my hard-core writing now.

The Avatar teaser trainer is up. I’ve heard that the media vultures are already circling around this movie and declaring it dead. Well, I’m going to go see it (opens December 18th) and if it entertains me and takes me to another world and doesn’t melt my eyes with too much in the way of gratuitous special effects (meaning the special effects serve the story and not the other way around), I’ll be a happy camper.

Here’s a trailer for a new Dorian Gray movie. It’s opening in the UK in September but have no idea if it’s coming to the US. May have to DVD this one if it doesn’t. Not sure if it’ll be up to the standards of the 1945 version but I’ll give it looksee whenever I get a chance to see it.

7 Responses to Writing While Working

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I watched the “Avatar” trailer a couple weeks ago, and I have to say, it looked pretty bad. The live action stuff, and the shots of the spaceship looked fine, but when they got to the CGI Avatars, I had flashbacks of Jar-Jar Binks. I think I’ll wait for it to come out on DVD.

    Ack, I hate jobs where you can’t even get to the internet! I’m such a net addict it’s like cutting off my oxygen 😉 Luckily my current job often requires me to be online so no problem there.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I feel so cut off when I’m not able to get online when I’m at work. Some places I’ve temped they’ve not cared but I’ve noticed that if the place is very customer-oriented then Internet access is pretty restricted but if the place isn’t as customer oriented it’s not. The place I’m temping at now is very customer oriented. More’s the pity.

  3. Digital Dame says:

    The more you deal with customers’ private info, the more draconian it becomes. I was at a credit card issuer as a temp years ago, and they didn’t have any kind of floppy or CD drives, no USB ports in the computers to restrict ability to copy files. Web access was completely unavailable. Blech, hated it.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Yep, I worked at a place like that. And I don’t blame them for being protective of people’s personal info. But it does limit one’s access to the Internet. But honestly, how protected is our personal information really. Someone recently got hold of my son’s credit card number and expiration date and used it to by a gift card. That number on the back? That so-called security number? The criminals (and they are criminals because they stole money from my son) didn’t have the right security number but they were able to use the card anyway. Go figure.

  5. Digital Dame says:

    Oh no, I totally understand why they took the precautions they did, but as you say it’s of limited value. Our information is out there whether we want it to be or not. I still have friends who will not pay bills online because they’re afraid the info will be stolen off the Web. Well, unfortunately, whether we do things electronically or not, the banks all do it so our stuff is out there anyway. And those people are absolutely criminals for using your son’s cc number, no question about it. I hope he was able to dispute the charge and have it removed. Shut down that account, have the bank issue him a new one (I’m sure you’ve already done this).

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Yeah, they talk about the carbon footprint we all leave behind but we should also be concerned about the electronic footprints we all have out there, whether we shop or pay bills online or not. With companies and agencies putting pretty much all their infomartion into databases that are in networks which can be hacked into we’re all pretty much vulnerable. Unless we’re totally living off the grid, that is, and I don’t know how one can function in this world and do so. I sometimes wonder if the technology we depend so much on evolved so quickly that we, meaning society, didn’t take enough time to set up the necessary safeguards to protect ourselves from ourselves. I mean, we try, but is it enough truly.

    As for my son he’s communicated with both the bank and the merchant that was invovled and they’re working to resolve the issue. But it’s a pain. A royal pain in the butt!

  7. Digital Dame says:

    “I sometimes wonder if the technology we depend so much on evolved so quickly that we, meaning society, didn’t take enough time to set up the necessary safeguards to protect ourselves from ourselves.

    I think this is dead on. And it’s always been that way, unfortunately. The guys who split the atom never envisioned the atomic bomb. We only discover the pitfalls after the fact.

    I’ve often wished I could get off the grid, but as you say there is really no way to be part of society and not be connected. If you want to be a hermit and live in a cave I guess you could do it, other than that we’re pretty much hosed.

    Good luck to your son with that. Hopefully he will only be liable for a small portion of the charges, if anything.

Leave a Reply

