NaNoWriMo

Digital Dame noted that I have a 2009 NaNoWriMo sticker on my blog.

Yeah, I plan to do it this year. I’ve done it on and off since 2003. I primarily use NaNo as a way to get a draft down but prior to that I’ve already done a lot of the prepping and preparation for it.

So it’s less like I’m just writing 50,000 words in a month to see if I can write 50,000 words in a month and more like I use the event as a way to get a 50,000 word draft down.

If I weren’t already planning to write a draft in November I probably wouldn’t be doing it but I do plan to start a new project, so I went ahead and signed up for it. There’s a local group that gets into it but it’s centered mainly around the university and I usually can’t make their meetings.

But the write-ins can be fun. That’s where you get together with other NaNo participants—meeting at a café, coffee shop, bookstore, student union, wherever, and you write as a group. The energy coming from the other writers can be inspiring although it is easy to also wind up just chatting instead of writing. But when I did attend the write-in’s I’d set myself a goal (usually a certain number of words written by the end of the write-in) and I always made that goal.

The only “rule” for NaNoWriMo, if you even want to call it that, is to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. But so many people use NaNoWriMo for other purposes. To revise, to draft, to edit, to write short stories, whatever. That’s the way I see it. Some people who are stickler for rules may tell you that you can only do this or that when it comes to NaNo but that’s a lot of hooey. If you’re going to do NaNo use it for whatever purpose that best serves you. The important thing is that you’re writing.

So, yeah, I’m NaNoing this year. 🙂

But now it’s time for me to get to my early morning writing session before heading out to work.

Ciao!

8 Responses to NaNoWriMo

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I’ll probably join the madness, to keep the momentum going. I love all the pep talks they send out, too. I kept all of them from last year, really inspiring. Go ahead and add me as a buddy on NaNo, I’m listed as Digital Dame.

  2. BigWords says:

    Not that the NaNo logos aren’t excellent (some of them are really cool), it’s just that I felt the need to make some of my own. Yeah, I know… The definition of ‘troublemaker’ will soon have my image adorning the dictionary.

    As for NaNo itself… Maybe I’ll expand on my reasons, motivation et al when November rolls around. I can’t even think about the writing at the moment, otherwise I’ll start early.

  3. Sherri says:

    I signed up today. This will be my first year. Nervous and excited, LOL.

  4. Digital Dame says:

    Sherri,

    I’m excited for you! Even though I didn’t ‘win’ last year, it totally changed my writing habits. I have never been so focused and dedicated as I have since my first NaNo last year. Best thing I ever did for my writing. Good luck!

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: I added you as a buddy. 🙂

    Big Words: I usually don’t even think about NaNo until October but I happened to stumble across the website and went ahead and signed up. Also I’m going to be prepping my NaNo novel beforehand (I’m doing research for it this month). Your logos are very cool looking!

    Sherri: That’s great, Sherri! I think you’ll find it very interesting. There are tons of forums at the website and other ways to connect with people during the month. It can get pretty crazy and I have to admit some years I had to stop due to other obligations but the years that I did “win” it felt pretty darn good. 🙂 And I added you as a buddy. 🙂

  6. Sherri says:

    Thanks Digital Dame and Jenna…I’ve added both of you as buddies.

  7. I’m going to sign up again, too. I’ve done it two years in a row now.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    I’m…..Gypsyscarlett over there. (surprise surprise)

  8. jennareynolds says:

    I just added you as a buddy, Gypsyscarlett! This is so cool! We are all going to do so much writing come November!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

