Vampires Redux

Just dropping in to say I’m back hanging with vampires again. I’ve been asked to expand my vampire story into a novella so currently working on that. Also doing some reading on vampire lore as I’m looking for some ideas for my vampire mythos.

Vampires Suck! But in a good way. Well, not good if you’re the suckee but good if you’re writing about them.

No, wait, that’s not entirely true. A vampire feeding on you can be a good thing. For example, in the Anita Blake novels, the vampire Asher’s bite causes orgasms.

Okay, maybe still problematic but you know what I mean. 🙂

Ciao!

P.S. Oh, and just a reminder that I try and add new stuff to my Research Page when I come across it.

I just added a link to a website called Ephemeral New York. I came across it while doing some research on New York, which is where my vampire novella is set. It’s a pretty cool site. There are lots of articles and some amazing photos.

7 Responses to Vampires Redux

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Oh we just love our vamps, don’t we? 🙂 I haven’t read Anita Blake’s stuff, I guess I should since I don’t want to end up copying anyone through a sin of omission. The only way to be truly original is to know what’s already been done and do something else.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I can’t seem to leave them alone. Or they me. 🙂

    As for the Anita Blake books, my brother has read them all and tells me the quality tends to rise and fall depending upon the particular books. I’m currently making my way through them and I have to say I do prefer the earlier books to the newer ones. I’ve also started reading Kim Harrison’s books which features a witch and a female vampire. And the Patricia Biggs’ books are supposed to be really good although shapeshifters I believe are prominent in those. Haven’t read those yet, however.

    Honestly, threre are now so many paranormal romances and urban fantasy novels out there that I can’t even begin to keep up with them all. So I’m mostly reading those that have been recommended to me by others.

  3. Digital Dame says:

    I know, the genre has exploded! Which I guess is good news for us, if people are still buying and reading them.

    I meant to ask, is the story you’re expanding your French Revolution vamp story, or another one?

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Yep, that’s the key. If people continue to buy and read them. But a friend and I are of the agreement that paranormals, whether they are romances or straight up urban fantasy, is pretty much an established genre. I mean horror has always been around as a genre but I think now we have a different flavor of that particular genre. It will have its ups and downs, like all genres, but I think it’s here to stay as a bona fide genre of its own. IMHO of course. 🙂

    The French Revolution vampire story comes out next week on October 1st in the anthology titled The Sweetest Kiss. The vamp story one I’m currently working is a new one set in contemporary times.

  5. Digital Dame says:

    I’m such a dork, I didn’t realize Anita Blake is the character in Laurell K. Hamilton’s books 🙂

    These books seem to cross genres, some are horror, some romance, etc. At the moment I’m not sure which classification mine would fall under. There are horrific elements to it, but there’s also a romance angle to it. When I get around to revising, I want to tone down the romance aspect, and maybe play up the horror, but there are other undercurrents I’m more interested in exploring.

  6. I do tend to think vampire stories have become its own genre (whether it’s more horror-oriented or romance).

  7. jennareynolds says:

    DD: That was my bad. I neglected to mention Hamilton’s name. 🙂

    They definitely do cross genres which may be part of the appeal. There’s something for everyone and there’s enough out there now, I’m assuming, to satisfy just about everyone’s cravings, whether for romance, horror or both.

    GS: It does seem that way. It would be fascinating to figure out exactly why that’s happened. I have my theories about it since I do believe that what’s going on in society has a very marked influence on what fiction genres become popular.

Leave a Reply

