Countdown to NaNoWriMo!


Today is already October 7th (darn time trying to break speed record again) so we’re just a little bit over three weeks away from the start of National Novel Writing Month.

So, for anyone participating this year (which includes moi) October is a great month to start prepping for it.

Some people prefer to just seat-of-the-pants it and start writing on November 1st. That’s totally cool.

Others (which includes moi) like to do all that anal-retentive outlining, character sketching and researching.

At her blog Paperback Writer has listed Ten Things for the NaNoWriMoers. Definitely check it out!

Also, as I come across stuff that may help us all, I will post them. One thing that’s kinda fun to use is the Seventh Sanctum website. It’s chock full of generators like The B Movie Generator, Character Generators, Vampire Names.

I generated 10 Modern Female Vampire Names and was given these:

Antionette Doom
Cassandra Borges
Cynthia Le Rouge
Lenore Vondrack
Luna Krauss
Luna Rosario
Opal Giovanni
Ruby Le Torneau
Sheeba Noble
Valerie Crowe

Okay, it’s mostly tongue-in-check stuff but who knows, you might just come up with something that you may need in a crunch. And NaNoWriMo can be a crunch time. But fun. πŸ™‚

So definitely link or bookmark The Seventh Sanctum. If nothing else it’s a great place to procrastinate. πŸ™‚

If anyone is planning to do NaNo this year and wants to add me as a writing buddy you can find me over at the NaNo website under Jenna Reynolds

And let me know in comments below if you’re doing it and I can add you as a writing buddy.

Also check out the NaNo Forums.

It’s a great place to meet like-minded NaNoWrimers and, if you cursor all the way down you’ll find the Regional Lounges. That’s a great place to find NaNoWrimers in your area so that, if you want, you can go out and meet, greet and write.

Okay, so start your writing engines. November 1st will be here before we know it.

5 Responses to Countdown to NaNoWriMo!

  1. Amy Ruttan says:

    I’m doing NaNo because yeah my life isn’t busy enough. LOL!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Cool, Amy! Let me know what your call sign is over at NaNo and I’ll buddy you!

  3. Sherri says:

    Already have you as a buddy πŸ˜‰

    I did a basic outline for my story in Sep but need to work on the characters. None of them are speaking to me yet (and I’ll be cracking down on them after my company leaves next week), LOL, but as it stands I see a lot of [FMC] etc. in my NaNo story!

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I’ve got a vague, misty outline in my head for what I’m going to be working on. I’m in it for the thrill of the danger, moment-to-moment having no idea what may lie ahead. It’s an Indiana Jones kind of experience for me. All I need now is the fedora and the whip to crack to get those words in line!

  5. jennareynolds says:

    Sherri: I’m working on characters right now for my NaNo story and then I’ll turn to plotting for the latter part of this month. Good luck!

    DD: That’s a great way to do NaNo too. I did that the first year I did NaNo and it was, as you say, very exciting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

