Battle Speeches

Over at the website Emotional Toolbox Laurie Hutzler has a post up about the Power of Idealism and battle speeches.

I have to admit the speech Maximus gives in Gladiator is one of my favorites.

“Three weeks from now, I will be harvesting my crops. Imagine where you will be and it will be so. Hold the line! Stay with me. If you find yourself alone, riding in green fields with the sun on your face, do not be troubled for you are in Elysium and you are already dead. What we do in life echoes in eternity.”

Video of Maximus’ speech to Roman Calvary

I had some issues with Kingdom of Heaven, but as is noted in the blog post, Orlando Bloom’s character didn’t so much give a battle speech but what he says to the people he’s leading serves to illustrate the character of Balian and how much he’s learned. So for that reason I give it a thumbs up. 🙂

“Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright that God may love thee. Speak the truth even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless. This is your oath (he slaps a young teen as his father slapped him) and that is so you remember it. Rise, a knight!”

Video of Balian’s speech This isn’t the speech quoted above but it’s related to it.

Aragon’s battle speech before the Black Gates is not mentioned in the post but I also like that one.

“Hold your ground! Hold your ground! Sons of Gondor, of Rohan, my brothers, I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down, but it is not this day! This day we fight!! By all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you stand, Men of the West!”

Video of Aragorn’s speech at the Black Gates

Yep, nothing like a good battle speech to get the blood flowing in the morning!

You can find the above movies speeches and many more atAmerican Rhetoric: Movie Speeches

6 Responses to Battle Speeches

  1. Not a battle speech, but I love the one that Spencer Tracy gives at the end of Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner. There’s that moment he’s talking about love and he glances at Katherine Hepburn, and you know for that one moment there’s no acting. She gets those tears in her eyes because he’s dying in real life, and then she tries to shake them away.

    That always gets to me.

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I’ve never seen that movie but I’m a big fan of both of those actors. I recently saw them in Adam’s Rib and they were wonderful together. That website I mentioned in the post has some really great clips of speeches from movies and not just battle speeches. There’s one on the website from Katherine Hepburn in Adam’s Rib where she’s gives a very rousing closing for her defense of a woman accused of shooting her philandering husband. (Oh,she didn’t shoot him dead). 🙂

  3. If you go to youtube and search “katherine hepburn eye of the tiger”, there’s a GREAT music video to Adam’s Rib.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Cool! Thanks! I will. 🙂

  5. Patricia says:

    I loved all three of these speeches. Probably Aragon’s best.

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Aragron’s battle speech sounds like poetry, warrior poetry, and I love Viggo’s voice too so that was a major plus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

