The High Priestess

On Saturday, October 17th, I’ll be giving a Tarot and Fiction workshop for the Mad City Romance group. (Image from Robert M. Place)

I’m looking forward to it as it also gives me an opportunity to not only talk about using Tarot and other oracle-type cards in one’s fiction writing but about myths and archetypes.

I’m a myth and archetype junkie. I cut my reading teeth on mythology, fairy tales and legends. So when I discovered Jung, Joseph Campbell, Christoper Vogler’s The Writer’s Journey, etc, it was like coming home in that I had been reading myths since I first learned to read.

In preparation for the workshop I’ve been reading over my tarot books and I recalled that one time I had determined what my Soul Card was, which is the High Priestess.

According to the Aeclectic Tarot website the High Priestess’s basic meaning is as follows.

The High Priestess is the card of knowledge, instinctual, supernatural, secret knowledge. She holds scrolls of arcane information that she might, or might not reveal to you. The moon crown on her head as well as the crescent by her foot indicates her willingness to illuminate what you otherwise might not see, reveal the secrets you need to know in order to make a decision about a problem or a job, an investment, love, career, family, etc.

And, finally, there is, behind her throne, the curtain that leads to the deepest, most esoteric and secret knowledge; the pomegranates that decorate it remind us of Persephone, who was taken down into the land of the dead, ate its fruit, and became the only goddess allowed to travel to and from that strange land. This indicates that when you get the High Priestess, you’re going to be learning some very odd things. Very odd.

I love learning odd things. 🙂 Yep, I definitely resonate with the High Priestess Card so having it as my Soul Card feels completely right.

In the Mythic Tarot Deck Persephone is the High Priestess and that’s so in sync with the novella, which is based on Greek mythology, that I’m currently writing.

Persephone, pomegranate in hand, is about to descend from the world of light back to the Kingdom of the Dead, over which she rules with her husband, Hades.

As for the mundane things, I’m still plugging away at my writing and still trying to stay warm. We’re about 20 degrees below normal in these parts and the middle of October is bit early for these kind of temps. Brrrrrr!

11 Responses to The High Priestess

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Good luck with that workshop! How fun, I wish I could attend. The HPs has always been one of my favorite cards. When assessing whether or not to buy a deck, I have to see the HPs and the Star cards. If I like those cards, I generally acquire the deck. The HPs in the Robin Wood Tarot blew me away, I had to have it at once!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    I have the Robin Wood deck. That’s a really good one. Thanks about the workshop. I’m a little nervous but I hope it will be fun.

  3. I really wish I could attend your workshop. Sounds so fascinating.

    How did you discover your Tarot soul card? Intuition or did you have a reading done?

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I think there are various methods for doing that, Tasha. Probably one of the better known ones is detailed here:

    The Lotus Pond: Creating a Tarot Profile

    Mary Greer has talked about this on the TarotL list which you might be interested in joining.

  5. DD,

    Thanks so much for that link! (and I’m also going to look into the TarotL list)

    According to their method, I’m The Hermit.

    Who me? 😉

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Yep, the technique at the link DD provided is how I came up with my Soul Card. Thanks, DD!

  7. Digital Dame says:

    This is also how you figure out your “Life number” in numerology. I calculate out to a 4. (personality card would come to 22, reducing down to 4, so it would be the same as my soul card, apparently.) I never thought of myself as an Emperor type. Then again, I’ve never been one to take a lot of crap from anyone, either 😉

  8. DD,

    I can see you having the strength and common sense of the Emperor.

    And yeah, I noticed it was the same as my life number.

    Nice that a High Priestess, Emperor, and Hermit can get along so well. 🙂

  9. gutterballgt says:

    Eeee! I love tarot stuff! I’mma have to figure out my soul card. I’ll probably come out with like the hanged man or something. Heheh. Jenna, you always know the most fascinating stuff!

  10. gutterballgt says:

    Hahah! Unless I added wrong, my soul card is The Lovers! *falls over laughing*

    Okay, usually zodiac stuff is spot on for me (I’m an Aquarius through and through), but apparently tarot is a little off when it comes to my personality.

    DD, thanks SO MUCH for the link! That was lots of fun!

  11. jennareynolds says:

    Hmmm, I don’t know, GB. The Soul Card isn’t the same as the Personality Card. 🙂 It could be The Lovers is the right card for you.

    Well, I think I’m pretty much ready for the workshop tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

