NaNo Day 17

Currently at 17,913 words. Still behind but making progress. The story is coming along nicely and I’m also still being surprised by my characters.

As I’ve probably mentioned ad nauseum in my posts, I can still catch up but I probably won’t make an attempt at that until sometime next week, which is the week of Thanksgiving.

Wow, how did Thanksgiving get here so fast! Well, I don’t have any travel plans for Thanksgiving. Christmas is usually the time I travel to see family so, with hope, I can still catch up.

Just wanted to share a couple of reviews about the vampire erotica anthology published by Cleis Press The Sweetest Kiss, which features my short story under my Anna Black nom de plume, “The Temptation of Mlle. Marielle Doucette”.

Our amazing editor D.L King forwarded them to us.

The first one is from Smart Shoppers Secrets.

Hands down the best anthology of vampire erotica I’ve read in nearly 20 years, The Sweetest Kiss: Ravishing Vampire Erotica is an absolutely stellar collection of fantastic stories that deliver everything one wants from this type of book: complex vampire societies, the passion of the hunt, the angst over immortal life, and tons and tons of hot sex.

And here is what was said about my story: Fans of historical erotica will want to clutch Anna Black’s The Temptation of Mlle. Marielle Doucette right to their hearts, for this tale set during the height of the French Revolution is amazingly beautiful, includes a very hot threesome scene, and illustrates that some passions are even stronger than mere lust.

You can read the entire review here

This review is from Colleen Anderson’s blog “Writing from Both Sides of the Brain”. The tales in The Sweetest Kiss span time and countries, just as vampires would through their long lives. There are twists on the relationship of the dominating vampire. There is masochism, sadism, domination and submission. There is addiction, fear, hunger, as well as love and salvation. What one person finds erotic is not the same for another. I would say this anthology deftly gives a taste of something for everyone. The writing in most cases is of a very good caliber and tales range from those little pieces to get off on to those tales that have meat to sink your teeth into. The Sweetest Kiss successfully delivers eroticism and bite.

Here’s what she said about my story: “The Temptation of Mlle. Marielle Doucette” by Anna Black is the first period piece set during the French Revolution. The thing about the longevity of vampires is that a certain timelessness can enter stories. The young Marielle must choose between her beliefs, execution and revenge through a repulsive (to her) yet strangely alluring temptation. This tale has the first truly descriptive sex scene though it is strangely lacking in other details.

You can read the entire review here

It’s interesting that the reviewer noted that my story was “strangely lacking in other details” as that is something I’m working on improving. Description. I’ve been having trouble writing description since I started writing. You know how some people say they can “see” their stories, like a movie? I hear my stories, like a radio play. 🙂

But I’m working on it. I’m reading craft books and articles on description, analyzing how other writers write description, practicing being more observant. So, yep, I’m quite determined to get better at it. Yes, I am! 🙂

That’s one of the things I do love about writing. You never stop learning the craft.

9 Responses to NaNo Day 17

  1. Joely says:

    Yay, those are great reviews! I clutched your story to my greedy little heart too, along with G.B.’s!!

  2. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Joely! 🙂

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Fantastic reviews, congratulations! I have to admit, I have not picked up a copy yet, but I will!

    I think Edith Wharton does some of the finest descriptions I’ve ever read. If you haven’t read her (or at least not recently) “The Age of Innocence” might be a good one to check out for descriptive technique.

  4. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, DigitalDame!

    I’ll definitely check out the book. I saw the movie version of “The Age of Innocence” and it was visually incredible.

  5. I’m so excited for you. What great reviews! 🙂

    As for writing description, I heard of a book that was supposedly quite good at discussing this. If I remember the name of it, I’ll let you know.

  6. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Gypsyscarlett!

    I do have one called WordPainting,: A Guide to Writing More Descriptively by Rebecca McClanahan. Is that the one you’re thinking of? I haven’t read it yet but plan to do so.

  7. Trisha says:

    You are making great progress with NaNo!! Hang in there.

  8. jennareynolds says:

    Thanks, Trisha!

Leave a Reply

