NaNo Day 28


Well, I’m most definitely not going to “win” NaNo this year. I’m only at 19,502 words. I had hoped to get 30,000 words done by 11/30 but I’ll be lucky to get 25,000.

But, again, I’m cool with it. I’m really excited about this story and I will be continuing on with it into December.

This weekend, however, I’m finishing up final touches on another novella that I need to get back to my editor. I’ve been tinkering with this one for a bit and it really needs to finally leave the workshop.

I’m also starting a brand spanking new novella in December (which is next week!), so I’m chugging along with that. I had downloaded a writing software called Liquid Story Binder, which was suggested to me by Lori Devoti, whom I’ve known for the past six years and is a prolific writer of romantic comedies, dark paranormals and urban fantasies.

I’ve been using LSB to prep my new novella. LSB has got a pretty steep learning curve but I think I’ve got a handle on the software now. I like the program because it doesn’t tell you how to write. It just gives you the tools to organize your writing. They’re having a sale, by the way. 50% off, so you can get it for $22.95 but the sale ends on Monday.

Oh, I’ve discovered a new guilty pleasure. Well, guilty in the sense that I’m ashamed of how much I love this show. 🙂

I was channel surfing one day and came across a rather interesting scene between a handsome man, dressed like Oscar Wilde, chatting up another man at what looked like some sort of country club. The men were dressed in Victorian fashion and I surmised the setting was also Victorian.

Then the handsome, dandified man, after agreeing to go “somewhere private” with the other man, pulls out a badge and announces he’s a detective who’s investigating the murder of a man who was murdered on his wedding day. The man, however, was living a secret life in that he was gay.

Thus was I introduced to Detective William Murdoch, star of The Murdoch Mysteries, which are set in the 1890’s in Toronto.

Murdoch is described on the show’s website as a “dedicated autodidact”. I love that word. Autodidact. A self-taught person.

Murdoch is, as I said, easy on the eyes, a staunch Roman Catholic, very cool emotionally (maybe a bit too cool emotionally in the eyes of Dr. Julia Ogden, the pathologist, who clearly has a thing for the handsome detective), very analytical and who is quite eager to use in his investigations such new-fangled forensic methods and devices as a lie detector, fingermarks, bloodsplatter, etc.

It’s kinda like Sherlock Holmes meets Gus Grissom from CSI. I love it. First, because I’m nuts over anything set in the Victorian era, I love mysteries and the show is very well-done with engaging characters and fast-paced scripts. Plus, I gotta love a detective who gets around on a bicycle. 🙂

It’s on my local PBS station here but I’m sure it can be found somewhere. The first season is also on DVD.

This show comes at just the right time, also, because in December I’m going to be world-building for my steampunk novella. I started it earlier this year but set it aside. However, I’m going to tackle it again in January.

Here’s an interesting blog post about the The Steampunk Romantic Hero

And look. Kate MacAlister has a steampunk romance coming out in February. Steamed: A Steampunk Romance

Not sure if airships, corsets and nefarious villains intent on ruling the world are going to take the place of vampires, werewolves and nefarious demons intent on destroying the world, but we’ll see.

I know that I sure wouldn’t mind adding my two bits.

Full steam ahead! 😉

5 Responses to NaNo Day 28

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Ah well, it’s not like you haven’t won NaNo before. To me, NaNo is a great tool for people like me who need a little extra discipline to PBIC and write. It doesn’t sound to me like you need anymore of that! Then again, as writers we don’t have many (or any) ‘writerly’ events to join for fun like this so it’s hard to resist the allure of spending a month playing along with other writers.

    The Murdoch Mysteries sounds interesting, but if they’re really going to break with tradition and history by having a female pathologist, just once I’d like to see one of these shows have a female lead detective, and put the guy in the secondary role as coroner, or pathologist, or someone the female lead goes to for advice. Yanno? How likely is it that there were female pathologists in Toronto in the 1890s anyway? I know it’s tv, and they’re trying to be politically correct and inclusive, but still.

    Have fun with the steampunk novel. Does it seem like steampunk is gaining more of a following? I think it’s a lot of fun myself.

    I’ll look into that software you mentioned, maybe it can help me get a little more organized with the three I’ve got in the works 😉

  2. Digital Dame says:

    I went to check out the LSB software, and found a pretty detailed tutorial on this blog:

    Not Enough Words

    Yikes! Sounds very complicated. Apparently she’s going to be doing a couple more tutorials to cover some of the other features, but I didn’t check to see if those are up yet.

  3. jennareynolds says:

    I will admit that LSB is quite complicated so I tackled it like I would if I were going to eat an elephant (but goodness knows why I would want to) One bite at at time.

    At first I was pretty overwhelmed but I just worked with each feature separately, practiced with it a bit and, most importantly, thought about how I could use it based on the way I write.

    It’s certainly not for everyone and I’ve heard some people who say they prefer Scriveners (which is only for Mac) but I don’t have a Mac and don’t plan to purchase one anytime soon.

    I do plan to use LSB on a regular basis and have already used it for the novella I’m writing in December. I like it but, again, it might not be for everyone.

    As for steampunk, well, it does seem to be generating some steam (yep, pun intended) of late but I do wonder how much it will really catch on. I was at the library earlier and picked up an anthology of steampunk stories which I am looking forward to reading.

    I didn’t even know I was a fan of steampunk until I realized that shows that I enjoy such as The Wild, Wild West, The Adventures of Brisco County, Jr, and movies like The Time Machine (1960), Time and After Time, etc were, in fact, steampunk.

    I’m very much looking forward to writing my steampunk novella. Can’t wait to get the gaslights lit, the gears turning, and the corsets tightened. 🙂

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I think Philip Pullman’s “His Dark Materials” trilogy (The Golden Compass, etc.) are considered steampunk. I’ve only seen the movie for the first book, and it was very interesting. I’d still like to pick up the books and read them. And yes, “The Time Machine” from 1960 is one of my all-time favorite movies!

  5. jennareynolds says:

    I saw the movie but I’ve not read the books but I would consider the movie steampunk and so I’m assuming the books are also.

    I agree about the 1960 “The Time Machine”. One of my favorites. I really need to purchase a DVD of it for my collection.

Leave a Reply

