Let it Snow

…since it’s going to anyway. We’re looking at our first major snow storm of the season this upcoming Tuesday night into Wednesday. At least a foot if not more. Ugh! I’m no big fan of snow but I’ve been dealing with it every winter for far longer than I care to remember, so I’ll just have to drag out my boots and coat, hat and gloves from last winter and deal with it.

I hadn’t realized it’s been nearly a week since my last blog post.
I’ve been busy writing. I have a submission going out this week, which I’m in the process of finishing up revisions for.

I’m still working on my NaNo novel and finally broke 25,000 words on it. Yay me!

I did take some time to watch some movies. Last week I watched Akeelah and the Bee, which is a heart-warming story about a girl from South Los Angeles who is in love with words and decides to take a chance and try for the Scripps National Spelling Bee or “the Bee” as it’s apparently called.

The actress who plays Akeelah, Keke Palmer, was wonderful in the role, as was Laurence Fishburne, who plays the professor of English who tutors her for the Bee. Angela Bassett, who plays Akeelah’s mom, was teamed up with Fishburne again. The last time these two were in a movie together it was in What’s Love Got to Do With It, the biopic about Ike and Tina Turner. The rest of the supporting cast was just as great and the movie is a joy to watch in every way.

I tell you, I do wonder if the words those kids have to spell are really, truly actual words, but watching the movie brought to mind how much I love words. I like the quote on the poster above. “Changing the world one word at a time.” Amen.

The other movie I watched was Public Enemies, starring Johnny Depp and Christian Bale. Depp played John Dillinger and Bale was the FBI agent, Melvin Purvis, who brought Dillinger down.

I have to admit a weakness for the fashions of the 30s and 40s and this movie delivered that up in spades. Depp was very good as Dillinger and so was Bale as Purvis, but the movie could have been edited down from its 2 hours and 20 minutes running time and, to be honest, I didn’t start to feel emotionally invested in the movie until the third act. The movie was filmed around this area so it was kinda neat seeing places I recognized. I’d say if you’re a Depp fan or a fan of gangster movies, give it a looksee. If not, you can probably safely pass on it.

Anywho, that’s about all that’s going on in this neck of the woods. Oh, I did get another review for Sweet Spot, but this is one I don’t mind sharing. It’s from Joyfully Reviewed

Ciao!

3 Responses to Let it Snow

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Stay warm! It was just about this time last year when all that snow started out here too (12/15, I believe). Hopefully we’re not in for another round of that, this area is so woefully unprepared. At least where you live they can deal with it, and you don’t end up housebound for a week by 10″ of snow!

    Congrats on a really great review!

  2. Patricia says:

    I hope the snow isn’t too deep! I went to the movies to see Public Enemy and I was a bit disappointed in it as it wasn’t as good as I had hoped it would be. I’m really looking forward to Sherlock Holmes this month.

  3. jennareynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Thanks about the review! I will give this area kudos in terms of snow removal. Having to deal with it so much they do know how to get the roads cleared out relatively quickly. I have to stock up on food today but by Thursday roads should be drivable. Today and tomorrow will be the rough days.

    Patricia: They’re saying we should get at least a foot. If not more. The heavy wet stuff is bad because it’s hard to shovel and drive in. But the light, fluffy stuff is bad also if the wind is high because then you get the blowing and drifting snow which makes it hard for the plows to keep the roads clear. And don’t get me started on white-outs! That’s scary stuff! The skiers and winter enthusiasts will be happy, however, and also the kids if the schools are closed. The rest of us will deal with it as best we can and dream of spring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

