My 2010 Calendar

This is the calender I picked up for 50% off over at my local neighborhood Borders. Not sure who ZoZo the Magic Queen is, but I love this calendar. It’s the perfect calender for the new burst of creativity I hope to experience in 2010. I watched the ball fall in New York’s Time Square last night and I was touched to see that Dick Clark was still there! He has difficulty speaking but he was there for the start of 2010.

So, it’s January 1st of the New Year. I know some people like to cook special foods or do certain rituals in order to ensure happiness and success in the new year. I don’t do any of those but of course, like most of us, I can’t help thinking about and wanting to lose weight. A friend of mine, however, has offered to help me with my goal to do so, and I’m certainly not going to turn down her offer.

As for my writing, I can pretty much sum up my goals in four words. Publish more. Make money. πŸ™‚

So, today I need to do a bit of organizing of my writing space and make a list of goals, at least for the first quarter of 2010. I find that easier than making some overall yearly goal.

Last year, on this very day my laptop died and my son had to wipe my hard drive and reload my operating system. Which, if I had not backed up everything, would have been a catastrophe of epic proportions. Anticipating such a horror again, yesterday on New Year’s Eve I backed up everything. Unfortunately, I had to do it manually on a series of thumb drives but one of the techy gadgets I intend to purchase as soon as I can is an external hard drive.

But laptop came on today and no problems (knock on wood) so far.

I had thought to buy one of those planners that you carry around in your purse or bookbag but I bought one last year and never used it. I have my Excel spreadsheets, with which I do most of my scheduling, a nice little black notebook, where I jot down ideas, notes and stuff I need to remember, and I recently downloaded a free software that PBW recommended called Chaos Manager. It’s a nice bit of software that’s on my desktop and has been instrumental in helping me schedule my writing and everything else.

It’s briskly chilly here. I’m talking temps dropping at some points to -25 degree windchills for the next few days! Big time brrrrrr!

So, anyway, here’s to a brand new spanking year. May it be prosperous, challenging, exciting and ultimately satisfying for us all!

8 Responses to My 2010 Calendar

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Happy New Year! I like your idea of reorganizing your writing space, I need to do likewise. I’m actually thinking of moving my whole setup into my older son’s old bedroom, since I no longer anticipate him having to move home again πŸ˜‰ Anything can happen, of course, and I can always change again if I have to.

    Good idea about the back ups. I have a zip drive still that I use, in addition to keeping a lot of stuff on a couple of flash (thumb) drives.

    We had a completely unexpected snowstorm a couple days ago, but it was only about 4 inches and is now mostly gone. It’s nearly 50 degrees already this morning! Very schizophrenic weather we’re having. Hope it warms up at least a little for you.

  2. Sherri says:

    Hope 2010 is a great year for you! I’ve come up with 10 in 10 goals for myself…it’ll be interesting to see my results at the end of the year, LOL. Good luck with your goals.

  3. Jenna Reynolds says:

    DD – 50 degrees sounds absolutely balmy! It’s still only highs in the single digits and lows below zero around here but we’re supposed to “warm” up to 20 by Thursday then back into the single digits.

    Sherri: Thanks, Sherri. Hope it is for you too. And good luck with your goals!

  4. Digital Dame says:

    I see I’m not the only one who got a new ‘do for the New Year! πŸ˜‰ Very cool new avatar!

    50 felt balmy to me too, after being down in the single digits only a couple of weeks ago so I went out for a bike ride yesterday. We finally got a break in the rain, it was too good to pass up!

  5. Jenna,

    Happy New Year to you, and good luck with meeting your goals. You certainly accomplished a lot last year with all your writing.

    For back-up, a usb stick is great.

    Hmm…You and DD have such great new avatars. I’m feeling itchy to get a new one myself.

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    DD: I thought I do something for the new year and month but doesn’t appear to be showing up on my blog itself.

    I would love, love, love temps in the 50s. We’re still single digits but think we might break double digits today.

    GS: Happy New Year! Thanks about the goals and the advice about the usb stick.

  7. Digital Dame says:

    When I’ve changed avatars in the past, it took awhile for it to start showing up everywhere. My computer at home shows my new avatar/blavatar/favicon, but at work it still shows the old one. I’ve tried clearing the cache numerous times. And yet I see *your* new avatar… I don’t understand it.

  8. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Cleaning my cache did the trick. Now I can see it. Thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

