Cylons and Revisions

I’ve been revising a novella that I want to submit on February 1st for a submission call. However, in the middle of revising, I realized that a lot wasn’t working with the story. A lot. So I had to do some major cutting and now I’m trying to fix what’s left. I have eight days in which to do it so I’m not freaking out just yet.

But I did take time out from my revising to check out SyFy’s new series, Caprica. To be honest I did not have high hopes for this series. But I was curious enough to at least check out the premiere episode. And I’m glad I did.


Caprica is a prequel to Battlestar Galactica, taking place some 58 years before the Cylon attack. At this point in time, Caprica is a world flush with success, money and power. As a matter of fact, Cylons are in the process of being constructed in this series. But something unforseen happens in their construction which lays the groundwork for all that’s to come.

Commander Adama is an 11-year old boy in the series, so the storyline centers around his father, Joseph Adama, a lawyer, who is an immigrant from Tauron and came to Caprica to make a better life for himself. Apparently, people from the planet Tauron are looked down upon by others in the Twelve Colonies and are called “dirt-eaters” by the Capricans.

Anyway, the show was a lot better than I thought it would be and I will definitely continue to check it out on Friday nights.

Okay, I gotta get back to my ailing novella. I’ve torn the guts out of the poor thing and I’ve got to get it back on its feet.

Ciao for now!

5 Responses to Cylons and Revisions

  1. bigwords88 says:

    I’ve got a feeling that if I watched Caprica (and given how much I like the reimagined BSG) the small niggling voice which derides the established timeline would develop into a roar. The idea that the period between the creation of the Cylons and the rise of the fleshy variety, seen in the parent series, is less than a century is… Well, it really doesn’t jibe with any real technological revolutions. Things don’t work that way.

    I’ll accept how quickly a species can move from looking at the stars to space travel (and humanity is a whisker away from being space tourists), but artificial life evolving from manufactured to self-replicating in the span of a century? Uh-uh. No way I’ll let that fly by without serious questions.

    Is the scripting still awesome? If the dialogue matches BSG I’ll pretend that anything timeline-related hasn’t been spoken of. If they do an episode devoted to the chronology of the Cylons, however, I fear my head may very well explode.

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    I’m afraid I haven’t thought that deeply about the series in that respect and I’ve only seen the first episode, but I have a feeling that there’s more going on with the construction of the Cylons than is readily apparent as there is one character in particular who seems to be very interested in the construction of said Cylons.

    I also wondered the same thing regarding the movement from the robotic Cylons to the, as you termed them, “fleshy” Cylons but there is something that happens in the premiere episode that I believe at least lays the groundwork for addressing that very thing.

    However, since I have no idea where the powers-that-be are taking the show as it relates to the timeline I’m willing to at least see what they plan to do with it.

    If nothing else, it could prove a valuable lesson for me, as a writer, in how to pull off such a thing. If they pull it off, of course. 🙂

  3. Sherri says:

    I never did get into the remake of BSG. Loved the original. But the real culprit was no one in my family is into the sci-fi stuff so I always got vetoed when it came to TV, LOL. Now I have DVR…so maybe I’ll give this a go.

    Good luck on the revisions!!

  4. Digital Dame says:

    Technology seems to keep increasing the pace of advancement so I’m not sure it would be completely out of the question for cylons to evolve at that pace. Once they’ve got the basic blueprint down, we’ve seen how fast technology has evolved in our own lifetimes with computers (they used to fill rooms, now they fit in your hand, all in far less than 100 years). If we reach the point of being able to construct intelligent robots, they could rapidly evolve into more ‘human-looking’ things. The Japanese already have some that simulate humans at a relatively good level. I think it depends more on how much money and resources are turned towards it. On that note, I will not be able to see the show since I don’t have cable, but oh well.

    Good luck revising your novella!

  5. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Sherri: I sometimes feel like I’m the only one who liked the original BSG. 🙂 I didn’t have major problems with the remake as I thought they touched on some really interesting themes. It was a bit too dark for me at times, I will say that, but I did watch all the seasons until the end. And that’s saying something for me. 🙂

    DD: I think you’re right about the advancement of technology. I mean, who knows what we could do in 50 years? I look at something like Next Generation and some of the techy stuff is still pretty cool (although mostly based on impossible physics) but the other stuff like their computers seem out of date compared to what we can do with even handheld PDAs. My niece with her Iphone can probably do more than Data could with the Enterprise’s computers *grin*

Leave a Reply

