The Ten of Wands


It’s been a rough week. But then, it’s been a rough couple of years. Ever since the economy crashed and burned. And I know I’m not the only one. However, compared to what’s going on in Haiti, most of us, even those who are struggling in the US, are pretty blessed. And I have not forgotten that and have done what I could financially to help the people of Haiti.

But I have to admit that lately I’m starting to feel a bit weighed down. This is a picture of the Ten of Wands from the Rider-Waite Tarot Deck, illustrated by Pamela Colman Smith.

The following interpretations for the card are from the Learning the Tarot website, which is an excellent site, by the way, to learn the tarot.

overextending
trying to do too much
refusing to say “no”
taking all the blame
assuming another’s debt
doing the lion’s share
having to work overtime
shouldering all the work
being saddled with an extra load

feeling burdened
never having time to relax
feeling tied to a treadmill
being taxed to the limit
assuming responsibility
being held accountable
carrying out an unpleasant duty
cleaning up a messy situation
being left holding the bag

struggling
fighting uphill
doing everything the hard way
experiencing resistance
pushing against the current
having to work for every gain
finding that nothing comes easily
laboring

Yeah, I’d say I’ve been felling a bit like the Ten of Wands. What’s interesting about this card is the way the man is carrying the wands. For one, that’s a rather strange way to carry them. And it looks rather awkward. Plus, he’s carrying them in such a way as to prevent him from seeing what’s beyond those burdensome wands.

Which is what can happen when we have problems. They can appear to us as if they’re the only thing in our whole world. And the way that fellow is carrying those wands, with his face buried deep in them, there’s no way he can see where he’s going, much less that he’s near to his destination, the village just ahead.

My advice to him (and, consequently to myself) is to stop, put those wands down, figure out a way to carry them so that he can see where he’s going and then continue on. But this time with an eye to his destination and the confidence that he will make it.

Sounds good to me. 🙂

8 Responses to The Ten of Wands

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I seem to have WAAAAYYYY too many 10 of Wands days in my life in general. However, lately things have felt lighter and I’m not sure why. I don’t know if it’s because Mercury just went direct, or some other harmonic convergence but I feel like I tapped into some good energy. I hope it will spread to you!

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    That’s great news, DD! Yeah, I definitely could use some of that good energy. 🙂

  3. Sounds like a good plan.

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    So far it’s working too. Bit by bit that is. 🙂

  5. gutterballgt says:

    Ugh. Ten of Wands, indeed. I feel like I’ve been toting that bundle my whole life. Would that I could figure out how to put it down, but I’ve grown so used to it that I wouldn’t know what to do with myself without it.

    But, oh, I’d love to try.

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Sometimes I wonder if the Ten of Wands is the definitive expression of the human condition. I know it’s not of course, as there are 77 more cards in the tarot deck, but it sure feels that way sometimes.

  7. Jenna,

    I hope things turn around for you, soon. I have a feeling they will since you have such a great attitude.

  8. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, Gypsyscarlett! 🙂

Leave a Reply

