Novellas

The last few months of 2009 I was working on two novellas. One was a vampire story and the other a fantasy. I submitted them to my editor at Ellora’s Cave. She accepted them both and I’m mailing out the contracts today.

I don’t know when they will be released but when I get more news I’ll share.

Currently, I’m working on an erotic contemporary fantasy that I actually wrote a couple of years ago and which I’m bound and determined to get done and submitted. And I’m finally, finally working on a steampunk.

I had initially envisioned the steampunk story as a novella, but when I started working on the characters and plot, the story got too big and now it’s turning into a novel.

I’m also working on a couple of short stories, both of which I had also written a few years back. I’m revising them for an anthology call and hope to submit them both by the end of the month.

So, all in all, I’m just keeping busy and trying to stay out of trouble. 🙂

8 Responses to Novellas

  1. Wow, you’re doing a lot!

  2. Fantastic news on getting both novellas accepted. Major congrats to you!

    I recall you saying before that you wanted to work on a steampunk story. I started mine, but set it aside for awhile to finish another novel I am working on. Good luck with yours. 🙂

  3. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Victoria: Keeping busy with my writing does help to keep me from dwelling too much on this absymal economy. Just hoping that things will get better sooner rather than later.

    Gypsyscarlett: Thanks about the novellas! 🙂 As for the steampunk story, I got this major brainstorm about what I wanted to really write about so I’m really hoping to stick with it this time and get it done. And good luck with your novel!

  4. Sherri says:

    Congrats.

    Sounds like you have a lot on your plate but it also sounds like you’ve got a plan. You go girl!

  5. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, Sherri! 🙂

  6. Digital Dame says:

    That’s great news, congratulations on the novellas! Glad you’re finally able to dive into that steampunk, I know you’ve been wanting to get to that for a long time.

  7. Amy says:

    You sound as busy as me. Congrats on the contracts.

    I’m trying to get a couple done for EC and a million other things … including a Steampunk as well. Which was supposed to be a short and got too big.

  8. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Digital Dame: Thanks, DD! 🙂 I’m crossing my fingers (and keeping them glued to the keyboard, which, trust me, is very difficult to do *grin*) that I’ll get it done this time. And just getting it done will give me a great sense of accomplishment. Anything else will be icing on the cake. 🙂

    Amy: Thanks, Amy! That’s what happened with my steampunk story! It was supposed to be no more than a novella but characters and ideas just kept popping up and I knew I couldn’t fit it all in just a novella. Good luck with yours!

Leave a Reply

