Script Frenzy


Chris Batty over at NaNoWrimo sent out an email announcing the April 1st start of Script Frenzy.

I’d heard about Script Frenzy but I’d usually hear about it after it was all over and the dust had settled. So it was nice to get a heads up this time around.

Am I doing it? I’m thinking about it. But not necessarily because someday I want to walk up on the stage at the Oscars and pick up my gold statuette for winning Best Screenplay.

Although, that would be nice. Oh yeah, very nice! πŸ˜‰

I have gone on ahead and signed up at the Script Frenzy website, but I’m still debating as whether or not to participate this year.

I do remember reading an article sometime back that suggested writing a novel first as a screenplay. The reason that appeals to me is because I tend to write my first drafts like screenplays anyway. My drafts tend to be very skimpy on interior monologue, description and all those elements that distinguish novels from screenplays.

And I have read a number of books on screenplay writing as a way of learning about dramatic structure so I do have the knowledge of screenplay writing if nothing else. Just actually haven’t written one yet.

And, on top of that, it might be fun to boot! πŸ™‚

I do have an idea for a novel that I think would make an interesting screenplay. But once I was done with it, I’d more than likely turn it into a novel as originally planned.

Oh, and it doesn’t have to be a screenplay. It can be a stage play, a short film, a graphic novel, a teleplay. You just have to write 100 pages in 30 days. Which comes out to 3.3 pages a day!

So, if you’re interested run, don’t walk (as time is flying before the start) and sign up. Oh, and if you already have an account at NaNoWriMo you don’t have to register for Script Frenzy. Just sign in under your NaNoWriMo account info.

See you at the movies! And who knows? Maybe someone out there might just write a script this April that will give them a chance to not only thank the Academy and a horde of other people before getting cut off by the orchestra (or some woman who jumps in and steals your Oscar thunder!) but also get a chance to flirt with Gerard Butler on the Red Carpet. Yum!

You go Gabourey Sidibe! If I had seen Gerard Butler in the flesh and in a tuxedo I probably wouldn’t have said out loud what Gabourey said but, good golly Miss Molly, I sure would have been thinking it! πŸ˜€

6 Responses to Script Frenzy

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I’m giving this a pass, I have too many things distracting me these days as it is!

    I think Gaby Sidibe’s name is Gabourey, not Gabrielle πŸ˜‰

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    You beat me to the punch. I was just coming over here to blog to fix that. πŸ™‚

    I’ve decided to do it. A couple of folks I know are going to do it. Since I was going to start a new writing project in April anyway going to experiment and write it as a script first and see what happens.

  3. joely says:

    What’d Gaby say? (I’m lame, didn’t watch the Oscars.) Sounds fun, but I’ve never done anything in script form before. I’ll settle for cheering for you!

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Gaby was talking to some reporter on the Red Carpet and she mentioned Gerard Butler, whom she apparently has a celebrity crush on. (*pant*) She said “she’d hit that.” You know, meaning she’d take him to bed. Well, the reporter calls Gerard over and asks Gaby to repeat what she said. She gets all flustered and embarrassed (who wouldn’t) and repeats it. Gerard laughs, flattered by her comment (*sigh*) and he and Gabby flirt for a bit (*double sigh*)—goaded by the annoying reporter, of course—but I saw it all as good fun. Some people thought she was being declasse with her comment but I admire people who aren’t afraid to say what’s on their mind. She reminds me of Mae West, another full-figured woman who was funny and not afraid of her sexuality. So, yeah, you go Gaby!

  5. Script frenzy sounds like a lot of fun. And a very interesting writing exercise as well. I have thought in the past that I’d love to try my hands at a play or screenplay one day.

    I’ll have to pass on joining Script Frenzy this year, though. But I wish you tons of luck, Jenna. Keep us informed on how it’s going for you.

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    I will. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

