The Finish Line

I’m near to the finish line on my edits. I managed to move my flashback scene to the beginning of the novella, add a new scene to transit that new scene to the rest of the novella and go through and make the necessary changes to the story to reflect the changes. Whew!

What I discovered was, just like what happens when you throw a stone into a pool of water, the further I got in the story from the new scenes, the less changes I had to make. Like ripples dissipating in the water as they they move out from the center of the disturbance.

Well, at least I found it interesting. πŸ™‚

I have to work on it some more today and tomorrow and then I will send it back to my editor. I did, however, take a break in order to watch a rather delightful movie. It was called The More, the Merrier.

Made in 1943 it starred Jean Arthur, Joel McCrea and Charles Coburn. It’s a romantic comedy that deals with the housing shortage during World War II. Particularly in Washington DC. Jean Arthur is a young career girl who winds up sharing her apartment with two men. A retired millionaire played by Coburn and an army sergeant played by McCrea, who has no place to stay while he waits to be shipped overseas.

It has all the stock elements of a romantic comedy (the cute meet, the misunderstandings, the wrong guy, the busybody “Cupid”, etc) and one of the sexiest seduction scenes I’ve ever seen. Which took place on the front steps of the apartment building and involved nothing more than a nervous Jean Arthur running her mouth, trying to resist her attraction to McCrea, who does nothing more than kiss her hands and her neck while she babbles.

It also had one of the cutest cars I’ve ever seen. That’s Jean Arthur being car-pooled to her job. I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. While watching it I imagined it being redone and found out that it had been remade. In 1966.

Walk, Don’t, Run takes place in Tokyo during the Olympic Games being held there. Apparently there was a housing shortage during the Games, which I can well imagine.
The movie starred Cary Grant, Samantha Eggar and Jim Hutton (the father of actor Timothy Hutton).

The premise of Walk, Don’t Run is the same. Two men and a women share an apartment in Tokyo instead of Washington, D.C.

What is interesting about this is that I’m currently reading Writing Movies and I’m in the chapter that talks about “originality”. The idea being that it’s pretty darn hard to be “original” when just about every story that’s ever been told has been told over and over and over. “Originality”, therefore, must come not from what story is told but how the story is told.

And I’m not necessarily thinking of remakes as in the case of these two movies. Although I could imagine someone somewhere thinking it may be time to do a 21st century remake of The More, the Merrier. Get a well-known older actor with a flair for comedy to pay the busybody “cupid”, and two young up and coming actors with a flare for romantic sizzle and comedy to play the young couple.

And, please, if someone is going to write this, I personally don’t want to see some man-child actor playing the romantic male lead. And no fart jokes or drunk jokes or bodily fluid jokes, thank you very much!

Sorry about that. Didn’t mean to go out on a rant. πŸ™‚

Hmmm, perhaps I’d better get back to my edits.

Ciao for now!

4 Responses to The Finish Line

  1. Digital Dame says:

    “And, please, if someone is going to write this, I personally don’t want to see some man-child actor playing the romantic male lead. And no fart jokes or drunk jokes or bodily fluid jokes, thank you very much!”

    AMEN!!! I’m so sick of the sophomoric antics of Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler and Will Ferrell I could scream. After “Along Came Polly” I swore I’d never watch another movie with Ben Stiller in it.The toilet scene was just torture. Will Ferrell just isn’t funny. Sandler is marginally tolerable, he’s done a couple things that weren’t too bad.

    Glad to hear your edits are cooking right along, sounds like it’s all coming together nicely.

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, DD! I think the edits and changes are jelling together and if I’m lucky the story may even prove stronger as a result.

    To be honest, when I want to watch a romantic comedy I tend to watch those from the 1940s or early 50s. The dialogue was snappier and funnier (there were some actual laugh-out loud moments in The More, The Merrier), the acting was definitely better and, as you said, none of those sophomoric antics regarding bodily functions and/or fluids.

    Then, again, I’m probably just showing my age too. I am becoming a rather cranky, caustic, cynical crone. πŸ™‚

  3. Digital Dame says:

    Well you just come sit by me then πŸ˜‰

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    LOL! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

