Just Checking In

We actually got close to 3 inches of snow on Saturday. I was not happy to have to brush the heavy, thick stuff from off my car. But, fortunately, it only coated the grass and not the street.

A woman was walking her dog as I was cleaning my car of snow and greeted me with a “Happy First Day of Spring!” But, today, the sun is out, although still a bit chilly, and the snow is all gone and temps will be in the 50’s this week. Not too shabby.

Let’s see. What am I working on? Oh, yeah. I’m doing Script Frenzy, which starts in eleven days on April 1st. I have a bit more prepping to do before then so that’s my #1 priority. It’s a fantasy that’s dealing with both religion and science, one of my fave things to mull over.

I’m also going over a novel I wrote back in 2004 for NaNoWriMo. It’s a wild and wooly space opera which I’m thinking about rewriting. It really needs a LOT of work but there are some seeds inside it that I think just might sprout into something interesting.

I’m also writing a short erotic Western. A cowboy menage a trois (MMF). Why? I have no idea. It’s only going to be about 15,000 words but it’s like a burr under my saddle and I gotta write the darn thing or go crazy.

Oh, and my steampunk. *sigh* I haven’t given up on it but the world-building is proving to be very, very challenging. To me steampunk has to be about the world or it’s not steampunk. So I haven’t given up on it but I need to spend some time working on the world in order to feel comfortable writing it.

So, trying to stay busy in order to stay out of trouble. 🙂

6 Responses to Just Checking In

  1. Snow on the first day of spring…Mother Nature has a wicked sense of humor!

    Script frenzy sounds like a lot of fun. I’d like to give it a shot but I don’t want to leave the second draft of my WIP now.

    Worldbuilding was one of my main problems with my Steampunk novel, too. Had to put it aside until I could really see the place. Good luck when you return to yours!

  2. Digital Dame says:

    A friend of mine who lives in Chicago was talking about the snow yesterday. When I lived in Massachusetts, that wouldn’t have seemed too unusual. I remember coming out of church on Easter Sunday with snow coming down one year.

    I’m passing on Script Frenzy as well, but best of luck to you!

    Dare I mention a (rather expensive) steampunk influenced Tarot deck? 🙂 Let me know if you want details.

  3. DD,

    I’ll bite…details, please. 🙂

  4. Digital Dame says:

    hahaha! Ok, don’t say I didn’t warn you:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=43116662

    I think the steampunk is more evident in the minors than the Major Arcana, and frankly most of the majors baffle me, but the art style is captivating and gorgeous. There’s a link from the Esty store to her Web site that shows all the cards.

  5. Jenna Reynolds says:

    That’s a really neat deck. A bit too rich for my blood but glad to see there’s a steampunk tarot available.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    I know. It’s a little out of my reach right now as well. 😦

Leave a Reply

