Checking In Again

Hadn’t realized a week has gone by since my last post. Been very busy with both writing and day-to-day living stuff.

I started drafting my cowboy ménage à trois. I should be finished with it by the end of April if not sooner. It’s proving quite interesting to write as it’s the emotional dynamics of the two men and the woman that I’m finding fascinating.

I’m still prepping for Script Frenzy, which is only four days away! Which means, also, it will be April 1st in just four days. Which means time is flying again! The first quarter of 2010 is nearly over!

I’m going to Wiscon. I’ve signed up for some panels and I’ll be doing my Tarot for Writers workshop. I’m looking forward to that.

I watched Vicky Christina Barcelona the other day.

It was a gorgeous movie with a gorgeous backdrop—Barcelona—and gorgeous actors, such as Penélope Cruz, Javier Bardem and Scarlett Johansson. It was enjoyable, although I have to admit, I was enjoying the breathtaking scenery, the beautiful Spanish architecture and the haunting strains of the Spanish guitar more than the actual plot. It was strangely narrated, too, as if someone was doing a reading of the story at a bookstore or something.

I thought it was going to be a lot sexier than it was. It has a ménage à trois which involves Cruz, Bardem and Johansson, but their threesome is pretty tame, IMHO. It’s a Woody Allen movie so there are plenty of neuroses to go around among all its characters.

I really thought that with such a sensual, sexy cast and being set in Spain—in summer no less—there would have been a lot more heat. You know? 🙂

Anywho, I have to get back to my edits, my drafting, my prepping, my worldbuilding and, of course, my sundry non-writing activities that make up day-to-day life in 21st century America.

Ciao for now!

4 Responses to Checking In Again

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I think I would have been surprised if Woody Allen had done anything more seriously sexual/sensual in that movie. It’s not really his forte. The neurotic characters, social satire are more his milieu. I haven’t seen the movie, frankly I’m not a Woody Allen fan, but I might have to check it out.

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    I’m not a big Woody Allen fan either but I have been intrigued by the movies he’s been making of late. This one wasn’t that bad. I just had some expectations for it but, as you said, it is Woody Allen and he’s more about the neurotic aspects of sex than anything else. The fact that I watched the movie all the way through says something, as I have no qualms about stopping a movie if it bores me, especially since I now get all my movies for free from my friendly neighborhood library. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Hmm what’s script frenzy? I’ll have to check it out.

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Script Frenzy is run by the energetic folks who also put on NaNoWriMo. Object is to write 100 pages of a script in 30 days. It starts on April 1st. I’m not looking to be a screenwriter per se, but I am trying an experiment of writing a script first and then turning it into a novel.

    The idea is to see if I can, by doing that, get a good chunk of the plot, action and dialogue down and then novelize it. I know, crazy idea, but I’m going to at least see how it goes. Oh, and it doesn’t have to be a screenplay. You can write a graphic novel, play, teleplay. Some people are just using it to get 100 pages of a novel done.

    Here’s the website for it.

    http://www.scriptfrenzy.org/eng/node

    They’ve got lots of writing resources for those who’ve never written a script, a forum and guest blog posts by screenwriters, playwrights, etc.

    FYI: A woman in my local RWA group (who has over 20 books published with Harlequin) says that she wrote a couple scripts before turning to writing novels and that scriptwriting helped her a lot, especially regarding story structure.

    And, just in case you were considering it, Amy, you can even download free scriptwriting software from Celtx. I did and it’s not bad for free software. It’s got templates for the formats for screenplays, plays, graphic novels. Places to keep track of characters, etc.

    http://celtx.com/

Leave a Reply

