Writing Movies and Wonder Woman

Okay, so got first nine pages of script done. However, made the mistake of going to Script Frenzy forums.

Darn it! Some people are already done with their scripts! I mean, yeah, the scriptwriting format is a lot of blank space, but, wow, amazing that some people are already done.

But hey, that’s cool. Good for them. I’m not doing Script Frenzy as a competition or even as a way to start a new career as a screenwriter. It’s an experiment. And it’s proving quite interesting. The focus in a script is on action and dialogue.

Sp you can only write what an audience would see on the screen. And, since a page of script is roughly equal to a minute of screen time, I’m nine minutes into my movie!

However, at the rate I’m going, I won’t be done with my 100 pages until the end of Script Frenzy, which is April 30th. (I’m also working on some other writing projects). Well, as long as I get those 100 pages done I’ll be a happy camper.

Although this applies to screenwriters, I think some of the things said in this clip are applicable to ALL writers.

Over the weekend watched the animated movie Wonder Woman, which I got from the library.

It was pretty good. Another origin story for Diana, Amazon Princess, but an interesting one. And Nathan Fillion (aka Rick Castle on ABC’s Castle and Captain Malcolm Reynolds of Firefly) did the voice of ace pilot, Steve Trevor, and Diana’s love interest.

I really want that lasso of truth! And the bullet deflecting bracelets. And the invisible plane. And the ability to kick some serious ass and look amazing while doing it. 🙂

9 Responses to Writing Movies and Wonder Woman

  1. Digital Dame says:

    When people finish that quickly, you have to wonder if they really started the same time as everyone else. I know for a fact that some people already have a start on a story before NaNoWriMo starts in November (they justify it by saying they won’t count the words they had written ahead of time… yeah, right). Either that or they’re wired on something and didn’t stop writing for 96 straight hours.

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    I’ve seen people during NaNo who finished 50,000 words in the first few days. Well, more power to them. 🙂 I have no desire to type that fast or go without rest or whatever it is they did. Plus, I want to be left with something I can work with when all is said and done.

    I’m not saying, of course, that someone can’t write something that quickly and wind up with something that’s worth reading. But my experience has been that something written that fast is going to need a LOT of revision and rewriting to make it something worthwhile. I suppose, when all is said and done, it’s the reason you’re doing NaNo or Screnzy that really matters in the end. 🙂

  3. I think you’re writing more than I am right now!

  4. Regarding NaNo, I have continued working on WIPs. Just bad timing. NaNo came around, I wanted to participate, but I was in the midst of my novel and feeling very inspired with it. I just opened up a new file so I wouldn’t accidently count any of the words prior to November 1st.

    I would love to try Script Frenzy. Hopefully, next time.

  5. p.s. That instance was two years ago (my novel: Portraits).

    Last NaNo, I did start from scratch.

  6. Digital Dame says:

    I’m sorry, I don’t doubt your honesty, Tasha! But a 100-pg screenplay in 4 days? It stretches credulity. There may be a handful of people out there who can do it, but color me skeptical.

  7. No worries, DD. I knew you were only speaking in the general sense.

  8. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Victoria: Writing is proving kinda therapeutic right now. It’s a place for me to escape. 😉

    GS: It’s possible that some people did cheat in Scenzy (and if they did that’s their issue) but, on the other hand, I would not be surprised to learn that some people actually did write 100 pages of their script in four days or so. However, I’d seriously have to wonder not only about the content but the structure of said script.

    Again, if they’re only doing it for the fun of it, more power to them. But, as noted in the video above, there are truckloads of crappy scripts being submitted every day to agents, production companies, contests, etc, and I hope that if those people are looking to have a career as a scriptwriter, they take a hard look at what they wrote and understand that they’ve got a TON of work ahead of them if they hope to not only sell the script but see it made into a movie. A script looks deceptively easy to write, due to all that white space, and that is its danger.

  9. Jenna,

    I think you meant to address the above to DD? I hadn’t questioned the script frenzy word count. Not a big deal- just wanted to point that out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

