News and more news…

Wow, hadn’t realized it’s been over two week since my last crazy post. The one where I was screaming my head off.

I’ve got some news to share, so here goes.

First off, I received confirmation from editor D. L. King that my short story “Elementary, My Dear Sir”, will be in the upcoming anthology called Spank! It will be released sometime in the fall.

Next, I’m participating in the first annual Coyote Con. It’s a 31 day digital conference for writers of speculative fiction. I’ll be participating on May 22nd in a chat on Transformative Sex with Joely Sue Burkhart, Teresa Wymore and David Sklar under my other nom de plume, Anna Black.

Registration is free and you can sign up at the website.

In conjunction with Coyote Con, my friend Joely Sue Burkhart is hosting MayNoWriMo. What’s great about MayNoWriMo is that you can set ANY goal you want for the month of May.

So if all you want to do for May is finish a short story or write a synopsis or write 100 words a day, you set the goal. There will be prizes and the yahoo group is already becoming a very lively place to hang out at.

My MayNoWriMo goal is to finish and submit a 4,500 word short story.

Okay, next is Wiscon. (May 28 – May 31st). I’m all signed up for that and I’m going to be on three panels, do a reading from one of my vampire stories and put on my tarot and writing workshop. So I’ll be spending May getting ready for that.

And I’m still working on edits for Ellora’s Cave for the two novellas that will be coming out soon. Plus I’m working on other writing projects. And I’m starting a new job on Monday. So May is going to be a crazy but fun month. At least I hope it’s fun.

I’ve been watching quite a few movies I had hoped to blog about but I’m afraid I’ll have to save those for another time.

I’m planning on using my blog to keep track of my progress during May because not only am I doing MayNoWriMo, I’ve set myself a weight-loss goal for May.

Anyway, that’s the news and updates for now. May 1st is this coming Saturday so I need to get cracking.

Oh, yeah. Forgot to mention. I didn’t finish Script Frenzy. 😦 I had to work on edits all during April and that was not the month to be trying something new like writing a script. But there’s always next year. I learned a lot, however, and I don’t regret the time, albeit brief as it was, I spent in the world of scriptwriting. 🙂

Okay, gotta run!

Ciao for now!

8 Responses to News and more news…

  1. Digital Dame says:

    Congrats on the new job! I hope it works out well.

    I’m not surprised you didn’t finish SF with all that you have going on! Sounds like what you’re doing is more productive and worthwhile anyway.

  2. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, DD!

    Yeah, it just wasn’t a good month to be trying anything new. But, there’s always next year. 🙂

  3. BigWords88 says:

    A weight-loss goal AND a word-count goal… The reason I don’t attempt two major goals in the same month is the risk of charting them on the wall and getting the numbers for one confused with the other. I’d see the 2,000 in the wrong column and fall over with shock.

    You sound like you’re being kept busy – don’t forget to take time out every so often and chill.

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    That could happen, I suppose, but I think I’ll be alright in keeping the two goals apart. I’ve got two separate spreadsheets already set up for both. 🙂

    It sounds more busy than it really is. And, trust me, I’m pretty lazy and have no problem sitting back and taking it easy. I would say, actually, that I have more of a Type Z personality (zzzzz for lazy and sleeping) as opposed to a Type A. 😉

  5. WOW you’re busy!

    Congrats on the new job! And have fun at WisCon! I will miss my WisCon buddies this year….

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, Victoria. We’ll miss you too.

    But you’re going to the Bookexpo, aren’t you? How cool is that! 🙂

  7. Congrats on getting the story accepted in the anthology. Awesome.

    You’re totally kicking butt (writing-wise). 🙂

  8. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, GS!

    Keeping busy keeps me out of trouble I think. Or at least I hope it does. 🙂

Leave a Reply

