I’m Back!

Greetings and Happy 1st Day of August !

Yep, I’m still here. I have been very, very lax about blogging due to Real Life (RL) being very, very stressful. And oh, what a tale of strife and woe I have to share!

But I’ll share that another day. I’d rather blog about something fun and try to forget what’s been going on the last couple of months. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a new book coming out from Ellora’s Cave. It’s called Madison Avenue Vampire and it’s releasing Wednesday, August 4th.

Here’s the blurb: Itโ€™s the swinging 1960s and Richard owns one of Manhattanโ€™s major advertising agencies. Heโ€™s also a vampire. He hungers to make love to Lana Sorensonโ€™s lush, voluptuous body, but he also thirsts to sink his fangs into her lovely neck. Richardโ€™s desire for blood is nearly out of control, and surrendering to both his lusts may deprive Lana of her life.

Lana is the proverbial farmerโ€™s daughter. A small town girl from Wisconsin, Lana regularly sees things she never would have imagined in her wildest dreams. But when she finds out the handsome, sexy man sheโ€™s dating is a vampire, Lana is faced with the terrifying possibility that the first time she and Richard make love could also be the last. Literally.

You can read an excerpt here.

I have no qualms about saying that Madison Avenue Vampire was most definitely inspired by the AMC television series, Mad Men. I was sitting and watching it one evening and thought to myself, what if Don Draper were a vampire? ๐Ÿ˜€

I actually wrote the story back in 2009 as a much shorter story. But when I submitted it my editor at EC she asked me to make it a bit longer.


This is from Wikipedia and pretty much sums up what the show is about.

Mad Men is set in the 1960s, initially at the fictional Sterling Cooper advertising agency on Madison Avenue in New York City, and later at the newly created firm of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce. The show centers on Don Draper (Jon Hamm), creative director at Sterling Cooper and a founding partner at Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce, as well as those in his life in and out of the office. It also depicts the changing social mores of 1960s America.

The first season is set historically speaking in 1960. Then Season 2 jumps ahead to 1962. Season 3 in 1963 and Season 4, which started last Sunday, late in 1964.

My novel is set in late October and early November of 1962.

I was initially so not into Mad Men that I didn’t even watch the first season. Then, for some reason, I started watching it and now I’m officially hooked.

I had a lot of fun researching the period (one of the things Mad Men receives acclaim for is its accurate recreation of the early 1960s). However, the folks over at Ellora’s Cave caught a rather major faux pas on my part.

In the very first sentence of the very first scene of the very first chapter, my heroine, Lana Sorenson, is at a swanky Halloween party. I had her drinking champagne out of a fluted glass. Like the one pictured.

Nope. Wrong. Back in the early 60s people drank their champagne out of coupe glasses. Here’s a pic of the guys at Sterling, Cooper doing exactly that.


Fortunately, my editor caught the mistake and I corrected it.

I love research, however. Even when I drop the ball sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I love history. Even recent history. It’s fascinating. Speaking of, here are some interesting and, in some cases, tragic events that happened on this date in history.

August 1

30 BC โ€“ Octavian (later known as Augustus) enters Alexandria, Egypt, bringing it under the control of the Roman Republic.

1619 โ€“ First African slaves arrive in Jamestown, Virginia.

1834 โ€“ Slavery is abolished in the British Empire as the Slavery Abolition Act 1833 comes into force.

1876 โ€“ Colorado is admitted as the 38th U.S. state.

1914 โ€“ Germany declares war on Russia at the opening of World War I. The Swiss Army mobilities because of World War I

1944 โ€“ Anne Frank makes the last entry in her diary.

1960 โ€“ Dahomey (later renamed Benin) declares independence from France.

1966 โ€“ Charles Whitman kills 15 people at The University of Texas at Austin before being killed by the police.

1981 โ€“ MTV begins broadcasting in the United States and airs its first video, “Video Killed the Radio Star” by the Buggles.

Well, I have edits I must work on all day as it’s back to work on Monday. Since it’s a brand new spanking month, my goal is to at least blog on the weekends. Now that I’m back to working full-time and also have a number of writing goals I need to accomplish before year’s end, my time is pretty much filled to the brim, but I do like to blog and have missed doing so these past two months.

And I apologize for not visiting blogs in turn. Yes, time has been at a premium but the stress of what I’ve been dealing with the last two months was also a major factor. But I got some news this past Friday which should lessen some of the stress.

Ciao for now!

6 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Digital Dame says:

    I remember those glasses, we actually used them at my wedding for our champagne, and that was long after the 60s! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hang in there, hope things level off for you soon. And congrats again on the new novel!

  2. Congrats, Jenna! The cover is delicious!

    I’ve watched a few eps of Mad Men and thought it was really good. I’ll probably buy it on dvd at some point. Very cool that it inspired your latest vamp novel. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sherri says:

    My parents still have a set of those glasses *g*

    Congrats on the new release. Good luck on the edits. Glad to see you back in blogland.

  4. Jenna Reynolds says:

    DD: Thanks! Yeah, I’m sure people still drink out of the coupe glasses, but I guess for that time period they were the champagne glass of choice. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks about my situation. I still have to get through this month but come August 30th I’ll be out of the department from hell and in another one at the J.O.B.

    GS: Thanks! The people in the show are not perfect, that’s for sure, but that’s one of the reasons I like it. My writing is nowhere near the quality of the writing on Mad Men, but I hope it’s still a fun read for folks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sheri: Thanks! I’m tempted to buy myself a set. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Amy says:

    Sorry you’ve had a stressful time. Hugs.

    And congrats on your upcoming EC release. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jenna Reynolds says:

    Thanks, Amy! Things have quieted down considerably, thank goodness! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

